Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New A/C and Drag pipes time for rejetting

Old 11-04-2012, 05:08 PM
SouthernGent
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New A/C and Drag pipes time for rejetting

I have had the drag pipes and am popping on a DK CUSTOMS HiFlow 587 AIR CLEANER K&N FILTER STAGE 1. I am a noob to messing with carbs but I am sure that I will need to rejet this thing. My question is what kind of jets , how many are in my carb and are the jets all i need to replace or should i be replacing other parts in the carb? Also what size jets for that setup? Thanks for the help

Old 11-04-2012, 08:04 PM
SouthernGent
Tourer

Hopefully someone will chime in cause I would love to do this myself

Last edited by SouthernGent; 11-04-2012 at 08:28 PM.
Old 11-04-2012, 08:34 PM
rquest
Road Master
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

Sounds like you should just start by getting a main jet the next size up from what is already in there so you get a little more gas. It's impossible for anyone to tell you without having the bike in front of them but most of the time that's all it takes. I had a Honda a couple years ago which didn't allow you to mess with jets so I bought a set of micro bits (almost like dental drills) and kept honing them out till it ran right. Keep checking your plugs for color. If they turn black and sooty, you've gone too far.

Old 11-04-2012, 09:43 PM
SouthernGent
Tourer

I have already removed the stock air cleaner do I need to remove the carb to install new jet?

Old 11-04-2012, 10:31 PM
edgeofinsanity
Road Master
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts