EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Adding kick start to a 93 Softail and battery recomendation

Old 01-14-2008, 06:56 AM
Blown 331
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding kick start to a 93 Softail and battery recomendation

So I went out riding with quite a few people this weekend. One of the guys has an 82 Shovelhead and it starter is messed up so he kick starts it every time. I've have a bunch of Honda and yamaha 500 & 600cc 4-stroke dirt bikes that I start no problem, a lot of people can't start them. I've never kick started a Harley and started the shovel with one kick, he didn't even tell me any tricks, I fired it right up.
A few months back my negative battery cable loosened up a bit causing the connection from the battery post and cable to get very hot and partially melted my negative terminal. When I started riding that day it got a little worse but I rigged it up so I could ride that day. When I went to start it for the last time that day it would not start and I had to get push started. I was thinking it sure would be nice to have kick start! I have a 1993 softail and know 2 people with 84 softails which have kick so I'm sure it can be added. What exactly needs to be done? The pipes I have are short and end even with eachother and will not work with kick start so I'll need new pipes. As far as I know all pipes that work with kick start are very staggered which I'd like to avoid if possible. Are there any pipes that work with kick start that end even with each other?
And also what is a good battery to get? I just rebuilt the engine with 10 to 1 pistons and an EV46 cam and I had to do compression releases so while a stock battery should be just fine I thought I'd look into possibly getting a better one.

Old 01-14-2008, 07:47 AM
Lumpy63
Cruiser
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Adding kick start to a 93 Softail and battery recomendation