Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

How to install points & condenser

Old 08-11-2009, 06:52 AM
wildbillshdsoftail
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to install points & condenser

Hi, I am new to this and I have never installed points & condenser on a motorcycle before. I have a custom Harley Davidson Softail with a 1340 Evo motor on it. My question is how hard is it to install new points and a condenser in the nose cone. Any help would very appreciated. Thanks. Bill

Old 08-17-2009, 07:44 PM
nmaineron
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It is not difficult but you need a few parts to get the job done.You will need a 6 ohm coil an advance unit with the points cam which opens the points up and the screw that keeps the points cam in place.Blue Streak and 6 cylinder Chevy points with a 12 volt condensor and you are good to go.

I won't ask why because I did the conversion also but in my opinion the electronic system is a much better way to go.

Old 08-18-2009, 08:21 AM
Jim Kraft
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 113 Likes on 40 Posts

I changed my 84 Sportster over to points & condenser when the electronic unit went south. I am hoping that the 99 EVO unit is better. One thing with points and condenser, if you carry a spare, you can fix most ign. problems on the side of the road. Guess you could carry a spare electronic unit, but much simpler with points and condenser. I do think the electronic is better in regard to running, although my Sporty ran very well with points. I think the advance curve is a little different, and points do not advance as much on the highway, which lets your gas mileage suffer a little.

Old 08-19-2009, 08:24 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,851 Likes on 2,419 Posts
Talking

Originally Posted by Jim Kraft