General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

poker run

Old 01-21-2010, 10:52 AM
pleasants9
Cruiser
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default poker run

hey guys I am a college student at the University of Florida. I ride a 92 sportster 1200, much better than taking the bus! anyways, I am also a midshipman, with the NAVY ROTC scholarship for school. Since ROTC funds are pretty low we pretty much pay for most of the stuff we do through fundraising. Well since there is a good number of bikes around gainesville, I thought about hosting a poker run when the weather warms up and gets nice outside to make some money for our unit.

my outline for the event was doing like a 5 card stud style with 5 stop around the gainesville area. I was gonna have the event start at some location, and charge $10 a bike to compete, $15 if you have a partner riding on the back. Then i guess hand out a piece of paper with the 5 destinations on it to ride to. Everyone destination you pick a playing card out of the pile there, and to keep from cheating I was going to have a different style of playing cards are each stop? maybe even record what card each guy gets or is that too much? Then after everyone goes to each stop, have all the bikes meet back at the starting place at a certain time and have some sort of buffet bar-b-q for those that partook in the event. Then the bike with the best hand wins a prize, maybe have a prize for second and third best hands also? I was thinking of going by the local HD dealership see if they wouldnt donate some things for prizes.

Anyways I would greatly appreciate some feedback on how to run this, what I should and shouldnt do. I have always meant to join in a poker run myself but have yet to so Im a rookie when it comes to how the whole thing works.

THANKS!
Go gators and go NAVY!

Old 01-21-2010, 11:01 AM
IronAss
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 12,220 Likes on 4,770 Posts