Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing Vance and Hines baffles???

Old 03-10-2011, 06:35 PM
Matheny27
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing Vance and Hines baffles???

I have a 00 deuce with a screamin eagle 95 with a heavy breather and vance and hines straight shots. I'm wanting it to be louder but was wondering if it would affect the power or the way it ran if i remove the baffles. I'm sure someone has removed theirs before. Just looking for opinions.

Old 03-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Smug
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I haven't removed mine, V&H staggered short shots, but I'm pretty sure your performance will be affected, and not for the better.

Old 03-10-2011, 07:04 PM
Sgt_Jim
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm no mechanic but i know my way around a wrench..and a wench, but i wouldn't call her that to her face... anywho.. if you take the baffles out my understand is that you're lowering the back-pressure that they create within the pipe, therefore lowering the backpressure that the engine needs in order to keep that piston firing the way it should..so yes your performance will be affected.

Old 03-10-2011, 07:05 PM
gregski
Road Captain
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts

Check out Big City Thunder baffles. I put them in my Big Shots Staggered and absolutely love them. Improved performance and they sound great.

Old 03-10-2011, 08:53 PM
Willie D
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Cool baffles

I actually put the QUIET baffles in my V&H short shots on my Nightster and I ran better with more torque . . . .

JMHO

Old 03-10-2011, 09:49 PM
CANTDR55
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts