Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

103 cu. in. to 110 cu.in Modification

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2011, 09:36 AM
Hotonthehocks
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 103 cu. in. to 110 cu.in Modification

Hey everyone, I am new to the Triglide family, I just put my down payment on my 2011 yesterday. I am looking at doing some modifications based on a lot of the feedback I have read here (thank you all) to deal with the heat and lack of power.

One thing my dealer threw out to me was to bore out the 103 to 110 cu.in. Has anyone done this on the Tri-glide?

I am adding Vance and Hines exhaust system, SE air cleaner, and SE Stage 1. If I dont do the bore I was going to do the cams, would like to do Wood TW-555 cam but dont want to void warranty so will likely go with SE 255 or Se 259E.

Does anyone think the bore is a good idea.

Old 03-11-2011, 10:28 AM
icebite1
Road Warrior
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome, I dont know anyone who has done the conversion to 110". The 103" TG has power you just need to nudge it a little with a few mods which also tie into heat reduction.

Our big complaint for power was on the '09-'10 models with the 32 tooth primary belt pulley which the MoCo finally addressed on the '11 models with the 30 tooth pulley change that most of us have done.

Last edited by icebite1; 03-11-2011 at 10:31 AM.
Old 03-11-2011, 10:32 AM
Hotonthehocks
2nd Gear

Thanks for the feedback, is replacing the cam going to help me with low end torque. Reading some of the posts is looks like the SE-255 is good at low end and bad at high end. The SE-259E might be better but then you have to replace the springs and pushrods as well.

Old 03-11-2011, 10:47 AM
msocko3
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 138 Likes on 120 Posts

Originally Posted by Hotonthehocks