Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

connecting rods

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 07:17 AM
vbx07
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Question connecting rods

Ok this is my first time posting on this section so please be gentle. I have a question about the connecting rods used on a 08 96 in motor. My motor is completly apart right now and my builder replaced the flywheel's due to a rod knock. I went to see the progress he was making and noticed something odd. The rods on the old crank where taperd. The rod's on the new crank are not. After doing a little searching, the new crank rod's look like the same one's used on a 88 in. motor. Is that possible? Could you tell me if the moco ever used the non taperd rod's on a newer motor, say 07 and up? Anyone?

Old 07-31-2011, 09:51 AM
MBrown
Cruiser
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts

The upgraded rods I've seen do not have the taper for 07+. It will be fine.

Old 07-31-2011, 09:57 AM
Jackie Paper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,527 Likes on 3,780 Posts

How bought some history. How many miles, what lead up to the knock. Do they know what caused it? Are the replacement parts Harley or aftermarket?

Old 07-31-2011, 04:32 PM
vbx07
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default new motor!