Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Age-old oil leak around transmission output

Old 09-01-2011, 07:29 AM
leafman60
Road Captain
Received 80 Likes on 50 Posts
Default Age-old oil leak around transmission output

I've been fighting this for 25 years. Im curious about what others have done as I am about to embark on yet another attempt to fix this all-to-common problem with shovels.

Transmission oil likes to weep-out of the area where the output splined shaft goes into the inner primary and onto which the front final drive chain sprocket fits. There are many aftermarket products such as the sprocket nut with seal that are aimed at this problem and I have tried all of them.

Ive even tried the small suzuki oring that you slip behind the spacer that goes over that output shaft and slides into the tranny behind the main trans seal. On a variation of this theme, I even had this spacer machined to accommodate a larger oring and tried that.

Ive use multi-lipped main seals too but I still get an irritating and small drop, drop, drip after a ride. Im about to try a fix once again. Has anyone found an answer ? What about just coating everything with RTV silicone ?

The oil has gotta be coming out around the main seal or slipping past the spacer and finding it's way out the splines of the output shaft.

Old 09-05-2011, 03:44 PM
lagunatic
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts