General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best Harley for Long Distance?

Old 04-18-2012, 09:22 AM
HDBikerDude2000
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Harley for Long Distance?

Hi,

Newbie here!

Let me start by saying I don't currently ride, but want to. I'm currently looking at my options as I have a small problem that means any bike I get requires modification.

I don't have a left arm below the elbow, so I've been primarily looking at scooters as they don't have a clutch to worry about, but then I got looking at HD as that is ultimately what I'd want to ride (I just love the sound of those V-twins ).

It would seem I might have an answer to the modification problem - apparently there is a company in the UK that has a mod for HD motorcycles that means the clutch can be controlled electro-mechanically, with shifting being done at the push of a button (so making the bike semi-automatic). That just leaves things like the indicator on the left side being found a new home on the right hand side, etc..

With all that said and done, I'd be looking for something that is suitable for long-distance riding (e.g. 5 hours). I'm more interested in comfort and ride handling than raw performance.

My local dealer suggested I looked at the Super Glide, and claimed it was HD best handling and long-range bike out of the lot. He really got my interest with the price (he was quoting about £11500 new).

Is this bike really the best for long-range riding? As I say, I'm looking for comfort (both in terms of sitting and in terms of ride quality, with good handling being important too).

I understand these bikes can be customized too (which I will definitely take advantage of!). I'm a tall rider at 6 ft 4 in. We established I would need the forward controls for a better riding position. I'd be very tempted to go with the foot-boards, if they don't interfere with ground clearance.