Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2 ohm speakers

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2012, 07:57 PM
tahmeeee@hotmail.com
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 ohm speakers

i notice that the stock harley speakers on my 09 streetglide are 2 ohm...........and i notice that the aftermarket speakers that i have seen are 4 ohm. what would happen if i used a set of 4 ohm in place. is there a way to make 4 ohm speakers work

Old 02-14-2012, 08:36 PM
jeff.georgalas
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I can't say if they will work or not as I've got limited knowledge as far as electronics go. But someone will chime in here shortly that's more knowlegable than me. I've got aftermarket 2 ohm speakers in mine. I believe that you can use 4 ohm speakers, but it takes more watts to drive a 4 ohm than it does a 2 ohm. My understanding is it takes twice the power of a stereo to drive a 4 ohm than it does a 2 ohm, so they would work, you'd just have to turn your volume up louder to get the same amount of volume. Again, I'm no authority on this, and I could be wrong.

Old 02-15-2012, 04:01 AM
PFWiz
Stellar HDF Member

Received 378 Likes on 228 Posts

Take a look at J&M Rokker speakers, they are 2 ohm. I love mine!

Old 02-15-2012, 06:29 AM
Iron Cross Audio
Former Sponsor
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

Jeff is correct.
4ohm speakers will work, but the output power will be decreased.

Old 02-15-2012, 09:45 AM
Uncle Larry
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 47,786 Likes on 18,560 Posts

I put the HD Boom Speaker ( No Amp ) set on my 2009 FLHTCU and I think they sound great.

Old 02-16-2012, 06:29 AM
UltraNutZ
Extreme HDF Member
Received 137 Likes on 108 Posts