Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Audio setup for detachable fairing

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2013, 05:17 PM
snarl16
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audio setup for detachable fairing

I'm not that experienced with audio beyond a simple head unit and speakers. I have been looking at buying a detachable fairing for my road king. I am considering a dragonfly with 6x9s. Does anyone have any recomendations of what to use in their fairings as far as a headunit/speakers/amp? Their basic setup for a headunit and focal speakers is $600 without an amp so I am just wondering what else my options would be. I'm not totally against using their setup by any means but the headunit they offer does not have blue tooth or anyway for me to use any devices other than my ipod and that's my biggest issue. Also, anyone using their basic system? If so, how does it sound without an amp? Thanks in advance.

Old 02-07-2013, 05:43 PM
UltraNutZ
Extreme HDF Member
Received 137 Likes on 108 Posts

DF IMO makes the best fairing out there so good choice. The major thing here is determining mounting depth for speakers. Focals are good speakers but you can certainly do better on the headunit. Im wondering also if there is enough room to slap a SS PN4.520d in there bridged to those focals? We need dragonfly2000 in here on this one

Old 02-07-2013, 07:37 PM
snarl16
Intermediate

Ultra - I did some researching on their website. Says their fairings can accept 6x9 speakers of 3-1/16" depth and 3-9/16" magnet diameter. Also, their stage 2 upgrade appears to come with the 125.2 arc mini amp which measures 8.25 x 4.8 x 1.7.

Old 02-07-2013, 07:38 PM
Dragonfly2000
Banned

Originally Posted by snarl16