Carburetor Related Find discussions on carburetor related goodies here. Swap and trades? Rebuild information and tuning for the pre EFI systems.

1988 883 Sportster carb woes...help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2015, 08:20 PM
CZshooter
Cruiser
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 1988 883 Sportster carb woes...help!

First of all, I'm a decent mechanic, but rather inexperienced on carbs. Bought this bike used, after having been stored and unridden for a couple years. This is my first street bike.

Initial issue - pops, spits, hesitates, cuts out. Couldn't get the bike above 55mph, wouldn't rev that high, would just keep popping and sputtering if you left the throttle wide open. Plugs seemed rich - black, not tan. Replaced plugs, no change. Bike has straight pipes.

Pulled the carb and cleaned it, replaced the intake seals. They weren't split or anything, didn't find anything wrong or plugged that could see. Carb had been apart in the past - brass inlet elbow, air screw was accessible (cover removed), Phillips screws had marks, didn't appear to be recent though.

Set the Air Screw at 2-3/4 turns out (didn't try to adjust yet - engine too hot!) main jet = 170 second jet had a 33 on it - real tiny hole, had to hold it just right to see light through it. Diaphragm looked good. I did move the float quite a bit - from around .740 to about .770 This float is 2 round cylinders, not boxey. I'm questioning if i got the little seat for the main jet needle in correct, but it only seemed to go together flipped the way i installed it...didn't force anything.

This is a 1988, the one year without an accelerator pump.