1981 Yamaha XS850 Build

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 08:50 PM
AdrianVall
Elite HDF Member
Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Default 1981 Yamaha XS850 Build

Hey guys,

Some of you may have seen that I picked up an old 81' Yamaha XS850 last weekend. It has 28k miles on it. Doesn't run at the moment, but hopefully will get it going with the next couple weeks.

Bought this thing for $150 with a clean title. Carbs are NEW and look GREAT. Tank inside looks great. Manifolds looked great. Took a lot apart today, and surprisingly looks to be in decent shape, especially for what I paid. Can't wait to get some parts for it! I'm trying to order some manual Petcocks from MikesXS but it seems to be EXTREMELY difficult to get this damn guy to respond to me. GRR!

This is my first project EVER. I'm not much of a mechanic by any means, so I'm pretty much learning as I go. So I may very well be needing a heck of a lot of help from you all!

Anyway, got the tank off, fender, tail light, rear end crap that's being thrown out, ect ect. Carbs came off to clean, but they were actually in PERFECT shape. All gas was drained from the whole system, so there was no sludge or anything. Kind of a relief! Exhaust came off, front end controls/bars, ect ect..

Anyway, pictures!

This is where it started:

And this is what its looking like at the moment.

Also, I ordered the two Petcocks from MikesXS today! I paid extra for shipping to get them here before the weekend. Ordered part #20-0019 with 3 blind plugs for the vacuum ports.

Hopefully, with some gas/oil, new petcocks and battery, it may be running!

Cheers,
Adrian

Old 10-03-2011, 09:02 PM
overhead
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 7 Posts