Custom Models All custom bikes.

New American IronHorse Legend owner, AIH owners come on in

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2010, 03:32 PM
madmaxnj
Advanced
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default New American IronHorse Legend owner, AIH owners come on in

I've been riding for 14 years now, an HD for the last 10. I've always loved the custom bikes. Starting going to Bike Week and stuff since the late 90's. I've been thinking about getting a new sled for maybe the past month or two and have been trolling craigslist, cycletrader, and ebay and finally got a 2006 American IronHorse Legend. I just re-found this website last week and searching through it has been helpfull. Thanks to pjb for the advice on the price, I picked up the bike for 12.5K. The bike was too much for the previous owner, 65 year old guy, about 5'7". He only rode it a few times. He said the odometer read 114 miles the last time he put it away. I can't verify that since the head unit is now on the fritz. I've read that this is common and I'm actually glad it happend and he saw it. i think it helped in my bargaining. I believe what he says the mileage is just based on the condition of the bike. Other than the dust, the bike is clean. The tires still have the nubs on em. I had it up on the lift last night and went over everything, cleaning, tightening, checking fluids, adjusting the shift linkage and kickstand, etc.

I'd like to find out everything I can about this bike. I'm not just the casual owner. I do my own wrenching and like to know all that I can. From what I can tell and have read, its a 124" S&S, Super E, Baker RSD 6 speed, Gib ignition, Thunder Heart guage cluster, RC Component wheels, and Riviera clutch.

Anything else I should know? The owners manual is a joke. Does anybody have any pdfs of a shop manual, wiring diagrams, or anything like that or know where I can get anything?