Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I go to the Wide Glide

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2015, 08:56 AM
golferguy
Advanced
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Should I go to the Wide Glide

Greetings all. I should have titled this Really Wanting a Wide Glide, but I am still questioning the move.

I started riding in 2012. At over 50yrs old, both my wife and I took the HD Riders Edge class. I had never ridden a motorcycle before. We both were hooked and started looking for bikes. I literally drooled over the Wide Glide while browsing the catalog and looking at the bikes on the showroom floor. I read a lot of bike reviews and talked myself out of getting the WG and bought a Sportster 1200 Custom for the following reasons:
1) the 2013 1200 has the big front tire. Recearch led me to believe it would be easier - more stable to ride. Never been on anything other than the Buell for the class
2) Price. I needed to buy 2 bikes and I wanted to pay in cash. I looked at some used bikes but couldn't find one that was a good deal. Purchased a new 2013 in the fall of 2012. I got my wife a Honda Rebel 250 which she rode for confidence then upgraded her to a HD SuperLow.
3) Inexperience factor. I just didn't feel jumping on the WG to start made sense. I rented the 1200 and if fit me well and I enjoyed riding it.

Fast forward to now. I am still an inexperienced rider with only 3600 miles on a bike. I feel confident in my skills and on this bike, but I keep looking at the damn Wide Glide. Size and weight wise it is not that much bigger - compared to moving to a touring bike. I wanted it from the start and now thinking of trading for one.

My riding preference is back roads. I enjoy the 45 - 55mph 2 lanes to just cruise. I enjoy the twisties and relaxed riding