Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

10k service comin up... STEERING HEAD BEARING?!?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2015, 10:39 PM
damager1
Tourer
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 10k service comin up... STEERING HEAD BEARING?!?

Hey y'all!!

So I got my 10k service coming up, which i have every intention on doing myself and following the service manual to the T. There is one topic of discussion on the 10k list thought that I'm unfamiliar with. Other than the critical fasteners, but i'll find em, I'm just new to my Dyna

... and thats this Steering Head Bearing adjustment. I've watched a few videos floatin around the interwebs, and also I read the manual about 40,000 times. And this is the first time i'm a lil hesitant on doing any part of the service myself! On my Sportster, I never had to do this. I wouldn't have had to until the 25k service. Has anyone undertaken this? The reason I ask is i'd love an opinion on if i should skip it or not and have a pro do it. I noticed there's a few tools involved that I don't currently have (but could MAYBE finagle something in a pinch) and I'm NOT willing to buy because I'll pretty much use it once, TWICE maybe depending on how many bikes i'll own in my life. Not to mention, messing with the front fork kinna gives me the heebee-geebees...and the LAST THING any biker needs is paranoia that the front end of the bike will collapse. HAH!

Everything else on the list is cake, done it before and will do them again!

And ANOTHER question while we're on the topic... WHY THE HELL does the Dyna require this adjustment at every 10k when the Sporty doesn't need it til 25?

Old 03-26-2015, 10:41 PM
damager1
Tourer

and when is this FRICKIN SNOW GUNNA MELT!!! DAMMITTTT!

Old 03-27-2015, 12:14 AM
EricInNCa
Outstanding HDF Member