Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Harley Dyna Superglide exhaust/vibration problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2015, 04:45 PM
dynahunter
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Harley Dyna Superglide exhaust/vibration problem

Hi forum,

I'm new to the Harley world, so hear we go

I bought a 2006 Harley Superglide about 4 months ago with python full pipes and screaming eagle air filter upgrade (my first Harley) and I absolutely love it. I have ridden motorcycles for years but nothing compares to the Harley feel Anyways, when I bought the bike it was from a private seller 1 owner who I know personally and he babied the motorcycle.

For the last 3 months or so, I have ridden the bike about every other day. It vibrates a little at idle but nothing I would consider out of the ordinary from what I hear about the dyna's. Once I give it gas and get going the bike runs as smooth as silk, shifting braking, etc.

The other day I decided I wanted to change my Derby cover so I borrowed a friends motorcycle foot pump jack and hoisted my bike up with the assistance of a friend. We believed the bike was on the frame and everything seemed fine. I ended up being busy and I wasn't able to change the derby cover for a few days while my bike stayed jacked up. I finally got around to changing it and put it back down. I completed it (easy job) and brought the bike back down.

I then decided I wanted to take my bike out for a spin. As soon as I fired the bike up I could tell something was wrong. My exhaust now appeared louder than normal and it seemed that the bike idle's faster than before. The bike also vibrated a ton more than before. I thought maybe it was a fluke and took it out anyways.