Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with tank removal - turn signal relo

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2016, 09:25 AM
Twospot
Road Captain
Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Help with tank removal - turn signal relo

Well not really removal, but slide back. I'm doing the turn signal relocation kit on my FXDL today. It's the first real work I've done on my bike so I am new to working on it. I have the service manual. First step is purging the high pressure fuel line and disconnecting the line in prep for unbolting and sliding it back.

It seems pretty straight forward but when I disconnect the fuel line, is all the gas going flow out of the tank or just whats left in the line. Prior steps are to disconnect the fuel pump module from the tank plate and start the engine until it stalls. Then hit the starter for 3 more seconds after the bike stalls.

Also the relo instructions say to remove main fuse, service manual says remove the negative battery cable. Does it matter which one I do?

Old 03-19-2016, 09:31 AM
NMfxdf
Tourer
Received 110 Likes on 80 Posts

I always just disconnect the battery, I may be doing it wrong, but it made sense to me. As far as the fuel, when I remove the main fuel line I get a couple of drips, the tank doesn't empty. The crossover line, now that's a different story.

The following users liked this post:
Twospot (03-19-2016)
Old 03-19-2016, 09:36 AM
Twospot
Road Captain

Originally Posted by NMfxdf
I always just disconnect the battery, I may be doing it wrong, but it made sense to me. As far as the fuel, when I remove the main fuel line I get a couple of drips, the tank doesn't empty. The crossover line, now that's a different story.
Excellent! Thank you for the quick response.

Old 03-19-2016, 09:51 AM
JohnMn
Outstanding HDF Member