Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bike won't idle after petcock replacement HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2016, 08:25 AM
Matthew DeFaria
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bike won't idle after petcock replacement HELP!!!

Hi I am new to Harley ownership. I recently got a 96 Dyna Glide Convertible. After the first ride the petcock began to leak. Did some research found just about everyone replaces with a non vacuum petcock, then plugs the vacuum line, no problem I can handle that. So I replaced that take it out for a second ride, now the bike won't stay at an idle. I have to hold the throttle around 1500 -2000 rpms to keep it running. My buddy came over we checked fuel flow out of the petcock, all good there, dropped the bowl on the carb, good fuel flow still. I am thinking it has something to due with the recently plugged vacuum line, it idled fine before I replaced the petcock. Please any help is greatly appreciated would really like to be happy with my first HD and enjoy it.
Thanks,
Matt

Old 09-03-2016, 09:04 AM
Max Headflow
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,252 Likes on 3,626 Posts

I'd make sure that the cap on the carb didn't blow off.. Other possible problems include accidentally pulling the choke cable out of it's seat so that the choke (really an enricher circuit) stays on.. Bike will want to flood.. Other possibility is that something got stuck on the pilot jet.. Possibly some crap from the tank.. Did the new petcock have a filter on the end where it inserted into the tank? If not you need an inline filter. Next possibility is that you might have disturbed one of the manifolds seals and it is now leaking.

Old 09-03-2016, 09:09 AM
GVan
Cruiser
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts