Rotor bolts - Torque specs for front and rear? - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

Rotor bolts - Torque specs for front and rear?

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-16-2009, 10:51 AM
AdrianVall's Avatar
AdrianVall AdrianVall is offline
Elite HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 4,822
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rotor bolts - Torque specs for front and rear?

Hey guys,

I took off the rotors on my super glide rims so that I could paint the rims. I noticed the rear rotor bolts were torqued on there pretty tight. Anyone know the torque specs for the rear and the front? And do I need to get new bolts, or can I re-use the stock bolts?

Thanks fella's!
Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:12 AM
tweakin's Avatar
tweakin tweakin is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would get new bolts, they are cheap insurance.

torque specs are; 16-24 ft. lbs. front / 30-45 ft. lbs. rear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:47 AM
rdondes rdondes is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Brunswick - People's Republic of New Jersey
Posts: 1,688
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Adrian,

Harley sells service manuals that specify torque settings for all bolts. With all the work you do, I thought of all people, that you would have one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:49 AM
AdrianVall's Avatar
AdrianVall AdrianVall is offline
Elite HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 4,822
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Adrian,

Harley sells service manuals that specify torque settings for all bolts. With all the work you do, I thought of all people, that you would have one.
LOL I definitely have one.. haha I'm just at work right now, and don't have access to the manual right now. I'm going straight to the storage where my rims and tools are, so I won't be going home to look at the manual.

Quote:
I would get new bolts, they are cheap insurance.

torque specs are; 16-24 ft. lbs. front / 30-45 ft. lbs. rear.
Thanks tweakin!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:55 AM
anubisss anubisss is offline
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 17,260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The manual states to replace every time they are removed as well. Don't forget the loctite.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2009, 12:09 PM
redrubicon2004's Avatar
redrubicon2004 redrubicon2004 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 1,899
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anubisss View Post
The manual states to replace every time they are removed as well. Don't forget the loctite.
I saw that in my manual as well, also told that by service techs. While I do understand the saftey aspect of replacing them. I wonder what percentage of that statement was made as a sales pitch? I also wonder how much a 3/8" bolt (I believe they are) is stressed at 16-24 ft/lbs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2009, 12:16 PM
MZBuckeye's Avatar
MZBuckeye MZBuckeye is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brunswick, OH
Posts: 1,500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did not replace mine, no issues. They looked perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2009, 12:28 PM
NoLongerAmember NoLongerAmember is offline
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,494
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

These bolts are not torque to yield, it would probably be ok if you cleaned the threads of the old bolts and used blue loctite on them. I would replace them as cheap insurance, the new bolts come with a anaerobic sealer already applied to them.
CB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2009, 12:53 PM
AdrianVall's Avatar
AdrianVall AdrianVall is offline
Elite HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 4,822
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys! I'm going to replace the rear bolts. They look kinda nasty. The front ones look fine, so I'll go ahead and re-use those.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:31 PM
r00k's Avatar
r00k r00k is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ,,
Posts: 1,380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The pulley bolts are the ones that you really need to make sure are replaced every time, there are a ton of threads about them snapping and getting bound against the swing arm.

Not worth the potential damage to save a few bucks.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque Spec's ExDucRider Dyna Glide Models 3 10-14-2013 04:22 PM
Torque specs.... Zachary Sportster Models 5 06-23-2013 05:51 PM
Need Torque Spec's yowflhtk Wheels/Tires 2 09-21-2012 09:10 AM
can someone please give me these torque specs (road king) JRK5892 Touring Models 7 04-24-2009 08:36 PM
Torque specs 2002softy Softail Models 2 04-23-2007 09:55 PM


Tags
bolt, bolts, brake, davidson, front, harley, pulley, rear, rotor, rotors, spec, specs, tacoma, torque, wheel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.