How do I relocate turn signals? - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

How do I relocate turn signals?

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-21-2009, 08:06 AM
Backwoodsrider Backwoodsrider is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I relocate turn signals?

Looking to relocate front turn signals from the bars on my 2008 street bob down to the fork tubes but all the kits I have found are for much smaller fork tubes. The forks on the bob are around 51mm. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2009, 08:13 AM
Rauzer's Avatar
Rauzer Rauzer is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 691
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Should be 49mm, no?

HD and Kury make relocation kits...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:54 AM
LeavenworthJeff's Avatar
LeavenworthJeff LeavenworthJeff is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Drag Specialities has a kit for like $20. This kit doesn't let the turn signals stick out so far like the HD one. Plenty of write ups and posts on this. Do a search on this this. Also look in the under $50 mod section. Some just used two of the same side bracket (can't remember which side it is) and drilled them out. I have the Drag Spec kit, but mine is for an 05 SG (39mm).

LeavenworthJeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:59 AM
DynaDan's Avatar
DynaDan DynaDan is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Beach
Posts: 477
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got this idea from a few guys in the How To Under 50 bucks thread.

You already have one of these on your bike. Your turn signal on one side uses it. I went to the dealer to get another and the parts guy went in the back and found one in the service department and gave it to me. If you can't get a freebie, I think they cost about $11.



Remove the lower (or upper, whichever you prefer) pinch bolts on your triple trees. You will have to drill out the signal mount hole just a hair to get the bolt through. Put the mount on and tighten the bolt back up, and mount your sigs. Very easy.



Once you put the signals on, you don't even really see the mount. This puts the signals nice and tight up against the forks. I like it better than any of the kits I have seen...Plus it was FREE!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:11 AM
SC-Longhair's Avatar
SC-Longhair SC-Longhair is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Passaic County, NJ
Posts: 11,473
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How to relocate signals:

Tell them to get a job and then throw them out of the house.

Seriously though, if you look in the under $50 thread there is a how-to for using the existing hardware which someone posted a picture of ealier in this thread. It's nice. Keeps the signals tucked in close. The HD kit has them sticking out a mile and half from the forks. Looks dorky, no offense to anyone using them but it's true.

The only thing you have to do is drill out the hole on the brackets to 3/8" for the fork pinch bolts to fit through.



You'll need two of the brackets that you drill, in the photo. The other won't work for this application. Can get another one at the dealer for a few bucks. Make sure you have a couple new/sharp 3/8 drill bits. The steel is damn hard. I broke 3 bits drilling mine.

Last edited by SC-Longhair; 05-21-2009 at 10:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:25 AM
Spastik Spastik is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hickory NC
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just installed the HD ones on mine and it looks great! It was the BIGGEST pain in the *** to do of all the crap I put on my bike LOL Damn exhause and stage I took half the time of the damn signals BAH!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:06 PM
thomaskray's Avatar
thomaskray thomaskray is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Carroll County, Maryland
Posts: 1,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Damn that looks good.


I got the clapmps on mine from Drag Spec. Yours looks much cleaner. Guess I know what I'm doing this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:16 PM
fiend138's Avatar
fiend138 fiend138 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver Wa.
Posts: 667
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you have the cash these a freaking nice, if I had the cash I would be running them.



http://www.customdynamics.com/wrap_a...ork_clamps.htm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:31 PM
sddynagus's Avatar
sddynagus sddynagus is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SD CA.
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loner Industries View Post
If you have the cash these a freaking nice, if I had the cash I would be running them.


I know whats going on my X-Mas wish list.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:34 PM
JRK5892 JRK5892 is offline
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago suburbs (Elgin/Schaumburg)
Posts: 19,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i run this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEa1qPAVEkw
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fork Tube Pinch Screw sjs245 Sportster Models 3 11-01-2012 07:59 PM
How do you relocate the front turn signals on a street bob to the front forks? joker2041 Dyna Glide Models 41 03-04-2011 03:36 PM
FXDF turn signal relocation?????? Fat Rob Dyna Glide Models 7 03-16-2010 03:56 PM
No Front turn signal relocation kit? 09 FXDB reesestewww Dyna Glide Models 13 10-01-2009 07:52 AM
Front Turn Signal Relocation Kit Cochino Dyna Glide Models 4 07-01-2009 04:40 PM


Tags
49mm, bolt, davidson, dyna, fit, fork, front, harley, hole, mounted, pinch, relocate, relocators, signal, signals, turn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.