Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-21-2009, 08:06 AM
Backwoodsrider Backwoodsrider is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default How do I relocate turn signals?

Looking to relocate front turn signals from the bars on my 2008 street bob down to the fork tubes but all the kits I have found are for much smaller fork tubes. The forks on the bob are around 51mm. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2009, 08:13 AM
Rauzer's Avatar
Rauzer Rauzer is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 691
Default

Should be 49mm, no?

HD and Kury make relocation kits...
__________________
"Less talky talk, more Ping Pong"

2006 Road Glide
2011 CR-Z
2001 Durango
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:54 AM
LeavenworthJeff's Avatar
LeavenworthJeff LeavenworthJeff is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Drag Specialities has a kit for like $20. This kit doesn't let the turn signals stick out so far like the HD one. Plenty of write ups and posts on this. Do a search on this this. Also look in the under $50 mod section. Some just used two of the same side bracket (can't remember which side it is) and drilled them out. I have the Drag Spec kit, but mine is for an 05 SG (39mm).

LeavenworthJeff
__________________
05 FXDI Silver
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:59 AM
DynaDan's Avatar
DynaDan DynaDan is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Beach
Posts: 477
Default

I got this idea from a few guys in the How To Under 50 bucks thread.

You already have one of these on your bike. Your turn signal on one side uses it. I went to the dealer to get another and the parts guy went in the back and found one in the service department and gave it to me. If you can't get a freebie, I think they cost about $11.

Click the image to open in full size.

Remove the lower (or upper, whichever you prefer) pinch bolts on your triple trees. You will have to drill out the signal mount hole just a hair to get the bolt through. Put the mount on and tighten the bolt back up, and mount your sigs. Very easy.

Click the image to open in full size.

Once you put the signals on, you don't even really see the mount. This puts the signals nice and tight up against the forks. I like it better than any of the kits I have seen...Plus it was FREE!

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:11 AM
SC-Longhair's Avatar
SC-Longhair SC-Longhair is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Passaic County, NJ
Posts: 11,462
Default

How to relocate signals:

Tell them to get a job and then throw them out of the house.

Seriously though, if you look in the under $50 thread there is a how-to for using the existing hardware which someone posted a picture of ealier in this thread. It's nice. Keeps the signals tucked in close. The HD kit has them sticking out a mile and half from the forks. Looks dorky, no offense to anyone using them but it's true.

The only thing you have to do is drill out the hole on the brackets to 3/8" for the fork pinch bolts to fit through.

Click the image to open in full size.

You'll need two of the brackets that you drill, in the photo. The other won't work for this application. Can get another one at the dealer for a few bucks. Make sure you have a couple new/sharp 3/8 drill bits. The steel is damn hard. I broke 3 bits drilling mine.
__________________

'07 WG, Wood TW6-6, Thundermax and Thunderheader 84HP / 91TQ
My Sears Red Jack Mod: http://www.hdforums.com/forum/dyna-g...ification.html
You can call me Vic.

Last edited by SC-Longhair; 05-21-2009 at 10:38 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:25 AM
Spastik Spastik is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hickory NC
Posts: 49
Default

Just installed the HD ones on mine and it looks great! It was the BIGGEST pain in the *** to do of all the crap I put on my bike LOL Damn exhause and stage I took half the time of the damn signals BAH!!!
__________________
What if the Hokey Pokey really is what it's all about?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:06 PM
thomaskray's Avatar
thomaskray thomaskray is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Carroll County, Maryland
Posts: 1,026
Default

Damn that looks good.
Click the image to open in full size.

I got the clapmps on mine from Drag Spec. Yours looks much cleaner. Guess I know what I'm doing this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:16 PM
fiend138's Avatar
fiend138 fiend138 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver Wa.
Posts: 667
Send a message via Yahoo to fiend138
Default

If you have the cash these a freaking nice, if I had the cash I would be running them.

Click the image to open in full size.

http://www.customdynamics.com/wrap_a...ork_clamps.htm
__________________
http://s153.photobucket.com/albums/s225/lonerIndustries/?action=view&current=SANY1146.jpg
What you call the disease I call the remedy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:31 PM
sddynagus's Avatar
sddynagus sddynagus is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SD CA.
Posts: 15
Send a message via Yahoo to sddynagus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loner Industries View Post
If you have the cash these a freaking nice, if I had the cash I would be running them.

Click the image to open in full size.
I know whats going on my X-Mas wish list.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:34 PM
JRK5892's Avatar
JRK5892 JRK5892 is offline
Sponsor
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago suburbs (Elgin/Schaumburg)
Posts: 19,352
https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Powder-Pro-Custom-Powdercoating/24
Default

i run this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEa1qPAVEkw
__________________
The Powder Pro
*street bob 100% powdercoating, 0 paint*
http://i47.tinypic.com/r8xk6t.jpg
www.thepowderpro.com
Joe Knapp, Chicago IL
Custom powdercoating work, fork bag stereo's, and much more

95", Welded & trued crank, lefty bearing, Heads by WFOLarry, andrews 37 cams, Andrew's 30T power pulley, 70t rear pulley, barnett clutch spring, tapered pushrods, flat top pistons, 25* injectors, Ported and polished throttle body, lockhart oil cooler, storz steering damper: 98HP and 103TQ
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 02:34 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fork Tube Pinch Screw sjs245 Sportster Models 3 11-01-2012 07:59 PM
How do you relocate the front turn signals on a street bob to the front forks? joker2041 Dyna Glide Models 41 03-04-2011 03:36 PM
FXDF turn signal relocation?????? Fat Rob Dyna Glide Models 7 03-16-2010 03:56 PM
No Front turn signal relocation kit? 09 FXDB reesestewww Dyna Glide Models 13 10-01-2009 07:52 AM
Front Turn Signal Relocation Kit Cochino Dyna Glide Models 4 07-01-2009 04:40 PM


Tags
49mm, bolt, davidson, dyna, fit, fork, front, harley, hole, mounted, pinch, relocate, relocators, signal, signals, turn


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.