Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electrical Ground on a 2010 Dyna Custom

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2010, 10:27 PM
rick in seattle
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical Ground on a 2010 Dyna Custom

Hi Guys,

I'm installing a tach on my new 2010 FXDC, and am looking for some rookie advice before pulling off panels. I have the owners and service manuals, but cannot find the location of the primary/frame electrical ground. The last Harley I owned was a 1949 flathead (in 1961), so I'm a bit of a rookie as far as the manuals are concerned. I've removed the seat, console, and fuse plate cover. How do I get access to the battery and grounding point?

Old 01-08-2010, 12:21 AM
OhioSkully
Club Member
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

What does the install say to hook the wire to the primary frame ground? The whole frame is grounded to the battery. If you want to find the main point where the battery connects to the frame then follow the black wire from the battery. You remove that cover with the small phillips screw under the battery cover. Iam guessing its somewhere not far from the battery or the starter.

Old 01-08-2010, 04:40 AM
jmpancoast
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The main grounding point should on the down tube of the frame behind the battery box. I had easy access to mine by removing the battery box.

Old 01-08-2010, 06:54 PM
rdondes
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

OhioScully is correct on all counts.

Old 01-08-2010, 07:41 PM
rick in seattle
6th Gear

Thanks, guys,

The Tach is installed and working. I wired it according to the HD spec; a little extra work, but it's a brand new bike. Thanks for leading me through the really basic stuff.

Old 01-08-2010, 08:28 PM
GPHDXLC
Grand HDF Member
Received 345 Likes on 238 Posts