Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

performance gains question

Old 06-01-2010, 10:32 PM
bigdork
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default performance gains question

I am getting the Screamin Eagle slip-on mufflers, Screamin Eagle Heavy Breather air cleaner and the Screamin Eagle race tuner installed. What would be the expected performance gains from these add ons? I am totally new to the fuel injected stuff and have no clue what is what. Are there better tuners out there? Educate me guys!!!!

Old 06-01-2010, 10:39 PM
SC-Longhair
Club Member
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts

Not many people spend hard earned cash on dyno tuning that basic setup. Once you start getting into cams and such is when it makes the most sense to dyno tune.

"Better' is subjective.

Remember that once installed that SERT will be married to THAT bike so you will not be able to transfer it to another bike if you wanted to. You'd have to buy another SERT for another bike.

You could research Thundermax ($900 new) which is an auto-tune setup or TTS Mastertune ($400 or so) which is also auto-tune but you do the tuning using a laptop and some tuning runs down the road.

There is also the Powercommancer V (five) that also has an auto-tune option.

Using the search function would yield thousands of posts on this subject.

As far as performance gains...MAYBE 2-5% over stock.

Last edited by SC-Longhair; 06-01-2010 at 10:44 PM.
Old 06-01-2010, 10:45 PM
joflewbyu2
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

With just the heavy breather and slip ons, all you need is the $160 remap - not the SERT:
Maximum % Power Improvement
HD Stage 1 Remap
SE Street Power Mufflers
SE Air Cleaner Kit
SE ECM recalibration
7% torque
12% horsepower

Attached Thumbnails performance gains question-hd2007_dyna_dyno.jpg