Help...Cam Sensor!! - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

Help...Cam Sensor!!

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:10 PM
martinbastin martinbastin is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ky
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help...Cam Sensor!!

I am in the process of replacing my old cam shaft cover with a new chrome one. I have a 2000 Dyna SG with the cam sensor. How do I take out the cam sensor and place it in the new cam cover? Right now, I see no place to unplug it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 08:51 PM
seniorsuperglideE8 seniorsuperglideE8 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Holland, Mi
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I'm stumped, you have a cam sensor on a Twin Cam engine. If you are talking about the cam chest cover that is on the bottom right hand side of the engine, there are no sensors in there. The EVO 1340 engine had a sensor in the cam cover, it drove off the cam ,i.e. one cam. The firing impulse for the ignition on a TC88 and TC96 comes of the crank position sensor on the left front of the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:06 PM
RIPSAW's Avatar
RIPSAW RIPSAW is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bates Motel, Fairville U.S.A.
Posts: 15,646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 111 Times in 99 Posts
Default ??

You referring to something inside the timer cover 31. Edited this and added sensor. Guess your are referring to getting plug off end of wire. When you look in end there is a small clip you need to push down and the plug will come out of the connector. They make a tool but I just do it with a safety stick pen. It goes in from plug side, not wire side. Like Mike T says be sure to mark them since they will plug in either side. Did not know Harley still had sensors in 2000 in there. Learned something. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Help...Cam Sensor!!-camcover.jpg   Help...Cam Sensor!!-timercover2.jpg  

Last edited by RIPSAW; 12-30-2010 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:30 PM
redrubicon2004's Avatar
redrubicon2004 redrubicon2004 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 1,899
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seniorsuperglideE8 View Post
I'm stumped, you have a cam sensor on a Twin Cam engine. If you are talking about the cam chest cover that is on the bottom right hand side of the engine, there are no sensors in there. The EVO 1340 engine had a sensor in the cam cover, it drove off the cam ,i.e. one cam. The firing impulse for the ignition on a TC88 and TC96 comes of the crank position sensor on the left front of the engine.
I have yet to work on one or see one, but I have heard that the early twin cams had sensors kinda like the Evo.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:34 PM
Mike T's Avatar
Mike T Mike T is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union,Ms
Posts: 3,487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You have to back the pins out of the connector housing on the frame rail. You depress the terminal latches inside the housing and back the pins out one at a time.Remember what color goes in each.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:36 AM
FXD2003Rider's Avatar
FXD2003Rider FXD2003Rider is offline
European Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harmelen (The Netherlands, Europe)
Posts: 7,283
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinbastin View Post
I am in the process of replacing my old cam shaft cover with a new chrome one. I have a 2000 Dyna SG with the cam sensor. How do I take out the cam sensor and place it in the new cam cover? Right now, I see no place to unplug it.
You'll find the info needed over here.

Happy MMXI

Last edited by FXD2003Rider; 01-01-2011 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:33 PM
seniorsuperglideE8 seniorsuperglideE8 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Holland, Mi
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Well, as the guard of the palace of OZ would say, bust my buttons. Learned something new today.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:37 PM
RIPSAW's Avatar
RIPSAW RIPSAW is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bates Motel, Fairville U.S.A.
Posts: 15,646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 111 Times in 99 Posts
Default ??

What I have not figured out is it still has the crank shaft sensor also. Almost appears as if its a check to make sure all is together and in good order between crank and cam shaft timing and if not set a code on the dash. Harley must have figured they did not need it and did away with it or combined with electronics so they had all they needed from the crank shaft.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2010, 03:14 PM
FXD2003Rider's Avatar
FXD2003Rider FXD2003Rider is offline
European Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harmelen (The Netherlands, Europe)
Posts: 7,283
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grf000 View Post
What I have not figured out is it still has the crank shaft sensor also. Almost appears as if its a check to make sure all is together and in good order between crank and cam shaft timing and if not set a code on the dash. Harley must have figured they did not need it and did away with it or combined with electronics so they had all they needed from the crank shaft.
You hit the nail on the head (click to see image) :
1999-2000 models have both sensors connected to the ignition module; 2000- up models only have the crank position sensor connected to the ignition module.

Last edited by FXD2003Rider; 01-01-2011 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2011, 04:23 PM
martinbastin martinbastin is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ky
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for all for the help. I can do it now. The forums are awesome and someone is always gonna help.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Cover Options 1998 EFI larsfum Evo Classic Models 10 10-27-2015 10:06 PM
1999 Dyna Wide Glide Code 42 58panman1 Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 1 06-21-2013 10:49 AM
Cam position sensor bypass Dangermouse Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 5 06-07-2013 04:40 PM
Cam position sensor bypass Dangermouse Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 1 02-23-2013 02:59 PM
CAM Sensor Cover sanlyn Dyna Glide Models 5 05-25-2010 10:24 PM


Tags
1996, 1999, 2000, 2007, cam, crank, dyna, engine, installing, location, motorcycles, plug, position, sensor, twincam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.