Turn Signal Relocation - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

Turn Signal Relocation

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-31-2011, 09:36 PM
NJ75 NJ75 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florham Park , NJ
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Turn Signal Relocation

Before anyone even says it, I already did a search and cant find what im looking for. I have a 2007 street bob, I bought the drag specialties front turn signal relocation kit. I havent started the job yet but I have a question Im hoping someone can answer. The blinkers are attached to a 1" wire coming from the bottom of the switch housing, what do you do with this wire, how does it detach from the switch housing?..I found multiple posts on detaching the wires under the tank but nothing about that wire under the switch housing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2011, 10:05 PM
nevil's Avatar
nevil nevil is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 5,639
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
Default

It's real easy- you'll see as soon as you open the switch housings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2011, 10:39 PM
iDodgimus's Avatar
iDodgimus iDodgimus is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yup, once the housing is open you'll have to clip a little zip tie to set it free... If the plug from under the tank is detached you should be able to pull the wire right out...

Take a pic of your routing once it's installed, I'll be doing mine soon and am looking for the cleanest way back into the harbess
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:26 AM
JoeHat JoeHat is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newhall, Ca.
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The switch housings have one small Torx tip fasteners on both halves of the housings. Just unscrew and separate. The wires run thru a rubber grommet on the bottom half. Like post above said ,snip the small plastic wire wrap holding it down on the bottom of the housing and you can pull then thru. You will need a small pair of wire cutters. Be carefull on the right side B/C of the throttle cables make it a tighter fit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2011, 01:21 PM
NJ75 NJ75 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florham Park , NJ
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:21 PM
davesvn007 davesvn007 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll be installing a lightbar and relocating the turn signals. Just curious about the right switch housing. Do I have to remove the entire assembly (master cylinder) or can I just remove the 2 screws and separate the switch housing? Service manual talks about removal the whole thing, but I just want to release the turn signal wire from the lower switch housing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:24 PM
nevil's Avatar
nevil nevil is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 5,639
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Just open up the switch housing. It will be obvious once you do that. There's a small wire tie you need to clip.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:13 PM
128auto's Avatar
128auto 128auto is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Posts: 10,065
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

All of the above plus one more thing, you can either cut the wires and re-solder or remove the fuel tank, take the wires off the connector, that's what I did.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:19 PM
davesvn007 davesvn007 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. I'm thinking I'll remove the tank... seems easy enough. The deluxe light bar comes with a new 6 wire harness and seems to be a direct replacement for the existing turn signal harness (well, half the harness anyway!).

I just want to clean up the old wiring and get it out of the switch housings / handlebars. Otherwise it will just bug me!
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
11, 2007, assembly, blinker, bob, change, glide, harley, housing, housiong, lower, relocation, signal, street, switch, turn, wide

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.