crank position sensor - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Log In 


Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

crank position sensor

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:50 PM
micg1313 micg1313 is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bucks County Pa.
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default crank position sensor

While i was out riding on one of the last warm days in November ,out of the nowhere doing 60 mph in traffic my bike just stopped running no engine noise nothing. I did have lights though. After coasting over to the shoulder and trying to restart the bike it would not fire. at first i thought it was fuel related . IT was not fuel . Had to have bike towed to dealer. Dealer's service dept called me late next day to say i need new crank position sensor, and possible cam position senor as well. thats all fine and well that i need these replaced but i could have been F@#$$% ing KILLED if it was in rush hour traffic. Anyone have this happen to them . The bike 1999 fwdwg bought brand new has less than 12,000 miles on it.
__________________
"TAKE TWO WHEELS AND CALL ME ON MONDAY"

1999 FXDWG / S.E HEADS/ 258 CAMS/ S&S SUPER E +THUNDER JET +P&P /V.H.SS W/BIG CITY THUNDER BAFFLES/ 100/100 CLUB...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:59 PM
grunt grunt is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17,682
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: crank position sensor

Not on my HDs, but a CPS went bad on a basically new Henderson. They also had to remap the ECM, but runs great now.
__________________
http://home.comcast.net/~sgruntorad/outlaw1.jpg

Love doesn't make the world go 'round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:43 AM
DougsDyna DougsDyna is offline
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: crank position sensor

These things do fail over the life of the bike.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2006, 08:24 AM
TattoodCaptain's Avatar
TattoodCaptain TattoodCaptain is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kingsport TN
Posts: 907
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: crank position sensor

Yup, my crank position sensor went too. I thought it was fuel or spark related also. I was lucky though, it just wouldn't start after rolling it out of the garage.
__________________
'99 FXDWG (mine)
'09 FSTSB CrossBones (hers)
'73 Sportster XLCH (mine)
http://www.hdforums.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=3455&dateline=1218203708
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2006, 01:24 PM
boe1971200 boe1971200 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,174
Thanks: 9
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Default RE: crank position sensor

Same thing happened to my 2002 FXD. Only instead of just dying suddenly, it spit and sputtered for a few seconds, then died.
__________________
Montani Semper Liberi

1979 XLH 1000 Sportster, 2000 XL883C Sportster Custom, 2002 FXD Super Glide, 2004 FLHTCI Electra Glide Classic, 2003 FLHRI Road King Anniversary Model, 2007 FXDB Street Bob, 2009 FLHRC Road King Classic- My current ride
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2006, 09:35 PM
wideglidedan wideglidedan is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: crank position sensor

how much did it cost you guys to replace it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:25 AM
roadking1550 roadking1550 is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default bad ckp or cmp?

I have an intermittent misfire or timing problem at steady rpms,usually just over 2000. Doesn't do it all the time,seems to be worst when restarting after a short shutdown or when the bike is hot.Any ideas? The ride is a 2002 FLHRSEI Screamin' Eagle Road King.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2009, 11:24 AM
red69camaro red69camaro is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 467
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if it's in the manual but I know on cars, you can take a ohm reading aand calculate for the temperture to see if it is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2010, 04:46 PM
jerryallora jerryallora is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Roadking1550-Had the same problem with my 04 Sportster and thought it was kind of dangerous to ride that way, never knowing when it would sputter, especially when making left turns into traffic. I bit the bullet and brought it to Harley. They diagnosed it in 5 minutes and I was out of there in an hour. The crank sensor, parts, labor & tax $140. I have 6000 miles, but what could you do, needed it and I glad to have the bike running fine again
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2016, 02:02 PM
creepychicken creepychicken is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Crank position sensor problems

Hey There,


I know this is an old thread, but I've searched the internet for a while now to find what the hell's wrong with my bike. I have a 1999 FXDWG, and the same problem that you had with yours has been happening to me, however, I am able to start it back up after leaving it sitting for a while. Anyway, I've changed numerous things and worked on others to resolve the problem and even taken it to a few mechanics with no luck. I just ordered a crank position sensor and plan on changing it out tonight. Did you change yours out yourself? Is there anything special about the installation or is it just plug and play? Any info you can offer would be greatly appreciated, so thank you in advance. I hope to hear from you. I'm at my wits end with this **** and really hope this works!


Thanks,


Liz
Quote:
Originally Posted by micg1313 View Post
While i was out riding on one of the last warm days in November ,out of the nowhere doing 60 mph in traffic my bike just stopped running no engine noise nothing. I did have lights though. After coasting over to the shoulder and trying to restart the bike it would not fire. at first i thought it was fuel related . IT was not fuel . Had to have bike towed to dealer. Dealer's service dept called me late next day to say i need new crank position sensor, and possible cam position senor as well. thats all fine and well that i need these replaced but i could have been F@#$$% ing KILLED if it was in rush hour traffic. Anyone have this happen to them . The bike 1999 fwdwg bought brand new has less than 12,000 miles on it.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Road King not starting well BigDogHawg Touring Models 3 09-20-2015 08:53 AM
05 Road King won't crank youwish General Harley Davidson Chat 7 07-11-2014 12:03 PM
Help Needed. Crank Shaft Position Sensor Killing My Ride! duscal Dyna Glide Models 0 03-24-2014 11:05 AM
Some help with Crank Position Sensor Pls. Georgepty Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 0 05-08-2011 03:31 PM
SHUTS DOWN micg1313 Dyna Glide Models 6 10-25-2007 05:17 PM


Tags
05, 06, angle, bad, bike, ckp, crank, davidson, dyna, harley, kingcrank, position, positioning, road, sensor, sensorharleys

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.