Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:50 PM
micg1313 micg1313 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bucks County Pa.
Posts: 36
Default crank position sensor

While i was out riding on one of the last warm days in November ,out of the nowhere doing 60 mph in traffic my bike just stopped running no engine noise nothing. I did have lights though. After coasting over to the shoulder and trying to restart the bike it would not fire. at first i thought it was fuel related . IT was not fuel . Had to have bike towed to dealer. Dealer's service dept called me late next day to say i need new crank position sensor, and possible cam position senor as well. thats all fine and well that i need these replaced but i could have been F@#$$% ing KILLED if it was in rush hour traffic. Anyone have this happen to them . The bike 1999 fwdwg bought brand new has less than 12,000 miles on it.
__________________
"TAKE TWO WHEELS AND CALL ME ON MONDAY"

1999 FXDWG / S.E HEADS/ 258 CAMS/ S&S SUPER E +THUNDER JET +P&P /V.H.SS W/BIG CITY THUNDER BAFFLES/ 100/100 CLUB...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:59 PM
grunt grunt is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17,682
Default RE: crank position sensor

Not on my HDs, but a CPS went bad on a basically new Henderson. They also had to remap the ECM, but runs great now.
__________________
http://home.comcast.net/~sgruntorad/outlaw1.jpg

Love doesn't make the world go 'round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:43 AM
DougsDyna DougsDyna is offline
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,976
Default RE: crank position sensor

These things do fail over the life of the bike.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2006, 08:24 AM
TattoodCaptain's Avatar
TattoodCaptain TattoodCaptain is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kingsport TN
Posts: 901
Default RE: crank position sensor

Yup, my crank position sensor went too. I thought it was fuel or spark related also. I was lucky though, it just wouldn't start after rolling it out of the garage.
__________________
'99 FXDWG (mine)
'09 FSTSB CrossBones (hers)
'73 Sportster XLCH (mine)
http://www.hdforums.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=3455&dateline=1218203  708
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2006, 01:24 PM
boe1971200 boe1971200 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,567
Default RE: crank position sensor

Same thing happened to my 2002 FXD. Only instead of just dying suddenly, it spit and sputtered for a few seconds, then died.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2006, 09:35 PM
wideglidedan wideglidedan is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 162
Default RE: crank position sensor

how much did it cost you guys to replace it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:25 AM
roadking1550 roadking1550 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default bad ckp or cmp?

I have an intermittent misfire or timing problem at steady rpms,usually just over 2000. Doesn't do it all the time,seems to be worst when restarting after a short shutdown or when the bike is hot.Any ideas? The ride is a 2002 FLHRSEI Screamin' Eagle Road King.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2009, 11:24 AM
red69camaro red69camaro is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 457
Default

I'm not sure if it's in the manual but I know on cars, you can take a ohm reading aand calculate for the temperture to see if it is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2010, 04:46 PM
jerryallora jerryallora is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13
Default

Roadking1550-Had the same problem with my 04 Sportster and thought it was kind of dangerous to ride that way, never knowing when it would sputter, especially when making left turns into traffic. I bit the bullet and brought it to Harley. They diagnosed it in 5 minutes and I was out of there in an hour. The crank sensor, parts, labor & tax $140. I have 6000 miles, but what could you do, needed it and I glad to have the bike running fine again
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 04:46 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
05 Road King won't crank youwish General Harley Davidson Chat 7 07-11-2014 12:03 PM
Help Needed. Crank Shaft Position Sensor Killing My Ride! duscal Dyna Glide Models 0 03-24-2014 11:05 AM
09 flht hard to crank dbru899271 Touring Models 11 06-23-2013 08:24 PM
Stupid oil change question nickel dime Touring Models 46 08-12-2012 05:30 PM
SHUTS DOWN micg1313 Dyna Glide Models 6 10-25-2007 05:17 PM


Tags
05, 06, angle, bad, bike, ckp, crank, davidson, dyna, harley, kingcrank, position, positioning, road, sensor, sensorharleys


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.