Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Harleys, 2012 Dyna Wide Glide back fires on decel

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2012, 08:17 AM
HRCH
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to Harleys, 2012 Dyna Wide Glide back fires on decel

I'm new to Harleys, I have owned my 2012 Wide Glide since May. I have about 2k miles on it. Yeah, I know it's low, that's because I have another bike too and I work a lot.
Well here it goes, I tried to do a search on this topic but I couldn't find any good results.
I installed a Vance and Hines twin slash slip on's on my 2012 Dyna Wide Glide. I have the 103 engine. It's all stock. My bike back fires all the time when I let off the throttle. I guess it's called a decel back fire. It's really getting annoying. The exhaust sounds great when accelerating but once I let off the throttle it back fires a lot.

Any hints? I recall reading something about a fuel pack module on the instructions of the slip on's I bought. I can assume that my bike is running too lean and that's why it back fires every time I let go of the throttle. Will this fuel pack stop this back firing. If so, I'll get it.

HRCH

Old 08-21-2012, 08:39 AM
11bDad
Road Captain