High Idle Speed - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

High Idle Speed

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-31-2012, 06:20 PM
Jaystn62's Avatar
Jaystn62 Jaystn62 is online now
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,382
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default High Idle Speed

I just tried to take my bike for a quick ride a few minutes ago. I stopped first to get a couple dollars gas just around the corner. When I started bike back up noticed it didn't want to idle down. Then check engine light came on. I waited a few seconds and light went out but was idling around 1400 rpm. I went ahead and took off decided to come back home. By the time I got home wouldn't go below 1740 rpm. I already have appointment for Tuesday to take bike in and have it looked at. Was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this on the newer Dynas or any of the newer Twincams.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2012, 07:42 PM
AFMM3's Avatar
AFMM3 AFMM3 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

My Dyna twice has done just the opposite, idles so low it won't even run.

My Electra-Glide has the Fly-By-Wire throttle and the idle gets messed up at least twice on every cross country trip. The fix for that is to cycle the ignition on then off at least 4 times, ten seconds per cycle. This resets the idle by forcing the computer to forget what it has learned and start over.

It also seems to fix my 2008 Dvna idling problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2012, 08:29 PM
Hitthespot's Avatar
Hitthespot Hitthespot is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had just the opposite problem also. New Super Glide Custom. Goes to normal fast idle when started, then went so low it quit. Only happened once, so I'm not too concerned at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2012, 08:32 PM
tech spec tech spec is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: grapevine,texas
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mine did it also. The idle control motor attached to the intake got gummed up by oil coming out of the breather. Remove your air cleaner, with engine running, spray a little throttle body cleaner into the intake . This has fixed the problem twice for me
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2012, 10:05 PM
nevil's Avatar
nevil nevil is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 5,652
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
Default

If the check engine light came on it means you threw a code. Check your codes, maybe you can figure it out before Tuesday.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2012, 11:29 PM
Dynaglide68's Avatar
Dynaglide68 Dynaglide68 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nomad
Posts: 1,206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

" I started bike back up noticed it didn't want to idle down " Once in awhile they do that it's normal .....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2012, 12:18 AM
wtb3886's Avatar
wtb3886 wtb3886 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Easley, South Carolina
Posts: 387
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try a search for DTC on here, there is a way to retrieve code faults that your computer has saved, then you will know what direction to take towards troubleshooting the real problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2012, 12:39 AM
Jaystn62's Avatar
Jaystn62 Jaystn62 is online now
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,382
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Thanks for the input guys but this bike has 3,800 miles and the check engine light does come on. Local dealer seemed more than happy to fix it under warranty so I'll let them deal with it. I do want a detailed explanation of what happened. Seems like a air or vacuum leak but I've never dealt with a FI bike. Will be a learning experience. Glad I'm not the first. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2012, 05:22 AM
caaraa caaraa is offline
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 371
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The idle control motor attached to the intake got gummed up by oil coming out of the breather.

Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2017 CVO 114 Idling Question hikervt Touring Models 12 10-02-2016 01:08 PM
Another Oil Pressure Question Dsrt Engine Mechanical Topics 0 05-04-2015 02:43 PM
'02 Road King Electrical Problem, Please Help! KiveKur Electrical/Lighting/Alarm 5 08-20-2014 07:12 PM
P0505 - High Idle on 2007 FLHTC - Resolution pjtj2000 Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 3 09-03-2013 09:40 PM
Ecm codes BBQHOG Touring Models 2 10-23-2011 09:47 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.