Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please Help--Messed up Grip Install

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2012, 05:31 PM
MiniWolf
Received 4,688 Likes on 2,258 Posts
Default Please Help--Messed up Grip Install

Sorry for the newb questions. Feel free to laugh or poke fun. I have never worked on bikes before.

I tried installing new grips today. I did consult the service manual. Unfortunately, the job I did sucks. I put the grips on the left--no problem. Easy as cake. The right grip caused me to totally mess up the throttle cables. I don't what gives.

I started accroding to the instructions in service manual. Let out all slack in both idle and throttle cable by looseining nut. Popped out the ferals from the stock throttle. Removes grip, put new grip into bar. It took some doing but I got the ferals on the end of the cable to pop in. Unfortunately, there is now a lot of slack and it looks like the ferals bob up and down inside the slot when the throttle is twisted. They get jammed on the housing when it is closed. I followed instructions to tighten the throttle and idle return using the cable adjusters. They never seem to pop back all the way ebcause of the rising feral pin. The best I could do was get it so it popped back almost 90% of the way.

I don't know what to do. I hope I didn't screw up the cables or bend something. I tried resintalling the stock grip and the same thing. Ferals bob up and down in socket when it is pinned into the slot.

Thank you for any advice or assistance.

Old 09-15-2012, 05:39 PM
j2m
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can you post a pic?

Old 09-15-2012, 05:59 PM
BluBob
Road Warrior
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts