Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wide glide as first street bike?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2012, 12:52 AM
jeffrandal
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wide glide as first street bike?

First I thank you for reading and hopefully responding to my question.

A bit of back ground...I am 6', I have ridden dirt bikes for several years ( I know street and dirt are completely different) and have recently completed an MSA course.

I have never ridden a big street bike but have been looking and sitting on several. The bike I have been longing for is a 2010-2012 wide glide which I feel very comfortable on.
I am looking for opinions and advise as to weather this is too much bike for a beginner street rider given it's power, weight and wide raked forks.

Any info is appreciated.

Last edited by jeffrandal; 09-22-2012 at 10:25 PM.
Old 09-20-2012, 01:01 AM
gartec81
Grand HDF Member
Received 836 Likes on 370 Posts

This sounds like a personals add

Old 09-20-2012, 04:03 AM
StreetBob235
Advanced

I'm sure you will be able to handle it. My advice is if you can go down to your nearest dealership and either test ride a Wide Glide or rent one and try it out. If you feel comfortable with it then make the purchase. Then maybe sign up for a MSA course near you if you haven't completed one yet. Helps lower the insurance as well. Best of luck!

Old 09-20-2012, 05:14 AM
mirrmu
Road Warrior
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts

Hi,

Go for it brother, first bike ever for me was the 2010 wide glide

I cruise around on it all the time,you'll love it, be careful on gravel or using too much front brake

Thanks
Mirrmu

Old 09-20-2012, 05:24 AM
DD-214
5th Gear