Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-01-2013, 11:04 AM
19jake91 19jake91 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 37
Default Front turn signal relocation wiring

I am getting ready to relocate the front turn signals on my 2012 wide glide to the forks. I quickly glanced at the turn signals and the switches, it looks like there are a few short wires that are different colors than the wires that run into the neck. My question is when I move them to the forks how would I go about wiring them? Would I extend the current wires from the signal to the switch?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2013, 11:26 AM
Gommee's Avatar
Gommee Gommee is offline
Devil's Advocate
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,156
Default

The signals themselves have their own wires that run to the backbone through the harness and have their own connector. You should remove the connector and pull the entire cable that belongs to the signals. All of the signal wires should be contained in a single wire sheath. It is not recommended to cut and resolder, you have to get at the connector anyways. I just did mine the other day, it was not hard, just took a few beers to get it done.
__________________
Cheers Gommee

2007 Street Bob - R.I.P.
2014 Fat Boy Lo - Daytona Blue (HD Custom Colour), HogRida laydown plate holder, LED tail light with integrated signals, removed the rear signals, removable backrest/rack and windshield, Stage 1 winter project to come...
Ride it like you stole it...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2013, 12:14 PM
19jake91 19jake91 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 37
Default

That's what I was expecting. When I unplugged the connector in the backbone the right side had two connectors, one with four wires(red,black,and two white with tracer colors) and one plug with one wire going to it. The left side only had one connector with the four wires(same colors as the other side). Are the turn signal wires in the four wire harness?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2013, 01:12 PM
Shrug's Avatar
Shrug Shrug is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 3,752
Send a message via Yahoo to Shrug
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19jake91 View Post
Are the turn signal wires in the four wire harness?
Start here. It's about replacing handlebars, but it focuses on relocating the signals. There are five very informative parts.
__________________
Shrug - Scott Wilson - Rockwall, TX USA
2010 FLTRX Road Glide Custom "Hester"
2004 FXD "Atlas"
View my Alaskapade! video

"Beware the fury of a patient man" - John Dryden

Last edited by Shrug; 03-01-2013 at 01:15 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2013, 01:26 PM
19jake91 19jake91 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrug View Post
Start here. It's about replacing handlebars, but it focuses on relocating the signals. There are five very informative parts.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXv2de6d6Tg
Thanks for the video, but his setup is different. He has a harness that was against his bar. The wires on mine go up into the switch housing and don't really seem to go anywhere after that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2013, 02:16 PM
jmeiers's Avatar
jmeiers jmeiers is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 893
Default

Just relocate them to the garbage can.
__________________

2010 Fat Street Bob - Black Denim and riding on air!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2013, 02:19 PM
Gommee's Avatar
Gommee Gommee is offline
Devil's Advocate
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,156
Default

If your signals are attached to your switch housing below your mirrors, the wire coming out of the back of your signal goes into the housing through a grommet. It then goes into the wire bundle that runs down your bars to the back bone. I believe I had 3 wires, one was for running light, one was for signal and one was ground. One side had a White plug and the other had a black plug.

BE CAREFUL TAKING THE THROTTLE SIDE APART! YOU NEED TO PUT A SPACER IN THE FRONT BRAKE LEVER SO THAT YOU DO NOT BREAK THE LITTLE SWITCH INSIDE!
__________________
Cheers Gommee

2007 Street Bob - R.I.P.
2014 Fat Boy Lo - Daytona Blue (HD Custom Colour), HogRida laydown plate holder, LED tail light with integrated signals, removed the rear signals, removable backrest/rack and windshield, Stage 1 winter project to come...
Ride it like you stole it...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2013, 04:41 PM
19jake91 19jake91 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 37
Default

After taking it apart more, there are three wires that go from the signal to the switch and don't look like they can be removed. In my service manual I found this "On FXDF and FXDB models, the turn signal wiring is routes through the lower switch housings, and the handlebar control modules are replaced with the turn signal lamps as an assembly." So I take it that is what is on my FXDWG which kinda pisses me off.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2013, 05:46 PM
Gommee's Avatar
Gommee Gommee is offline
Devil's Advocate
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,156
Default

Strange, going to need some-one with a newer model that has taken this apart to chime in.

My 07 has the wire going from signal light to the lower switch housing and then down the bars to the backbone and plugs into a harness.
__________________
Cheers Gommee

2007 Street Bob - R.I.P.
2014 Fat Boy Lo - Daytona Blue (HD Custom Colour), HogRida laydown plate holder, LED tail light with integrated signals, removed the rear signals, removable backrest/rack and windshield, Stage 1 winter project to come...
Ride it like you stole it...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2013, 06:46 PM
19jake91 19jake91 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gommee View Post
Strange, going to need some-one with a newer model that has taken this apart to chime in.

My 07 has the wire going from signal light to the lower switch housing and then down the bars to the backbone and plugs into a harness.
Yea that is how the service manual shows it and of course mines different. Thanks for your input. I wish mine would've been like that
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:46 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 Fat Boy Lo Turn Signal Re-Lo Issues MJ-13000 Softail Models 8 08-17-2014 05:30 PM
Front Signal Wires SargeFirstClass Dyna Glide Models 10 07-20-2014 07:57 PM
Front turn signal relocation wiring question billinthehills Softail Models 2 03-15-2012 10:53 AM
turn signal relocation - how to rewire? snakeyes Softail Models 15 05-15-2011 07:59 PM
Internally wired turn signal wires... WARG Softail Models 4 03-14-2008 09:56 AM



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.