Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Note to self...carry some common tools.

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2013, 11:47 AM
skinman13
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 234 Likes on 169 Posts
Default Note to self...carry some common tools.

I ride my '01 FXD to work when I can and the other day was really nice so I decided to take the long way home. On down the road, I roll up to a traffic signal and notice a knocking/rattling noise coming from the right side of the engine. I was hoping it was the old beater car in the right lane but heard it again at the next signal. I am looking for a good place to pull into when the engine starts loosing power and missing/popping. Ok, I am new to Harley's and I am thinking, "oh ****, WTF is this all about!"

With being totally distracted by the noise, I had completely forgot that I needed to gas up and realized that the main gas is empty and so I switch to the reserve as I am heading toward a gas station. I pull in and park to check things out and noticed that the exhaust pipe mounting bolt is loose and it is the pipes that are rattling. I gas up and make it home without losing the bolt.

I tighten the bolt and spent a couple of hours checking all the others and find several that are somewhat loose. I put an emergency tool kit together and learned a lesson on common sense preventative maintenance and paying attention to my ride...before I get stranded somewhere in the middle of nowhere.

Old 03-10-2013, 11:57 AM
davidc
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts