Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

01 dx question

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2013, 09:40 AM
Psi23
Banned
Received 19 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 01 dx question

Hey quick question I'm pretty sure I already know the answer too. I just picked up a fxdx and it has a breather like tube on the inner primary cover. After a few hundred miles the other day there was a decent amount of oil leakin out down and around to the end of the primary. I have yet to swap out all the oils yet that will be later this week. I'm thinking this thing has to much oil in her right now. Anyone can chime in on their experience with his tube.

Old 03-26-2013, 10:20 AM
Scrmnvtwins
Stellar HDF Member
Received 97 Likes on 72 Posts

I have no experience with the tube as my experience is with FLH and FX inner primaries which do not have the tube however, if your primary is leakinfg it is usually 1 of 2 causes. the first would be the inner primary seal where the transmission input shaft slides through the back of the inner primary. This is where the front pulley is on your final drive. Leaks here will be blown all over the front pulley area and will leave drips on the bottom rear of your outer primary cover. The 2nd could be overfill which is usually oil added to the inner primary when the crankshaft seal leaks on the motor and adds oil to the primary. Either way you should pull the derby cover and check your fluid level and troubleshoot the root cause.

Old 03-26-2013, 11:13 AM
Psi23
Banned

Originally Posted by Scrmnvtwins