Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Welcome to HDForums.com!

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-22-2013, 09:42 AM
milesvdustin milesvdustin is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 476
Default Headlight problem, no low beam, only high

My headlight does not work on low beam, only high. I have tried three different bulbs, same issue with all of them. Is there a relay or something that controls this? I removed the wires from the stock headlight and installed them in a new bucket, and the wires are going to the same holes in the connector that they came out of. There is yellow, white, and black wires. The plug on the wiring harness side has an extra orange wire, not sure what it does. All I did was change the wires, nothing else. I am going to attack it with a meter later. Any common things that would cause this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2013, 12:24 PM
nevil's Avatar
nevil nevil is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 4,270
Default

Problem with the headlight switch?
__________________

07 FXDB
Thundermax, Ohlins, 30T, Big Sucker
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2013, 12:38 PM
FXD2003Rider's Avatar
FXD2003Rider FXD2003Rider is offline
European Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harmelen (The Netherlands, Europe)
Posts: 6,547
rene.langejan.1
Default

Connector not plugged properly or corroded pins?
__________________
FXD2003Rider

(Click the M&G image to view a video footage)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:03 PM
milesvdustin milesvdustin is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

I checked the connector, it is solidly connected, and the pins are clean and free of any corrosion. It just stopped working....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:28 PM
FXD2003Rider's Avatar
FXD2003Rider FXD2003Rider is offline
European Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harmelen (The Netherlands, Europe)
Posts: 6,547
rene.langejan.1
Default

Now try to find out if there is 12 v to the white (high beam) and yellow (low beam) wire inside the headlight bucket.
If there is, check if the bulb studs touch the tabs inside the fitting.

If there isn't, check for 12 v at the connectors.
__________________
FXD2003Rider

(Click the M&G image to view a video footage)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:38 PM
milesvdustin milesvdustin is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

I think my plan is to check for the voltage at the pins in the headlight. If I dont have low there, which I am positive I dont, then I will go to the left handlebar switch plug and check for continuity through the switch. If thats good, then I am not sure where to go from there. Is there a relay that switches the headlight between high and low? Im at work and dont have my manual with me at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:53 PM
FXD2003Rider's Avatar
FXD2003Rider FXD2003Rider is offline
European Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Harmelen (The Netherlands, Europe)
Posts: 6,547
rene.langejan.1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milesvdustin View Post
I think my plan is to check for the voltage at the pins in the headlight. If I dont have low there, which I am positive I dont, then I will go to the left handlebar switch plug and check for continuity through the switch. If thats good, then I am not sure where to go from there. Is there a relay that switches the headlight between high and low? Im at work and dont have my manual with me at the moment.
No relay for the high/low beam.

The handlebar switch is 1 in, 2 out.

Since you have 12v at high beam, the issue is in between the switch and the lamp fitting or the bulb itself. Another option: a torn/pinched yellow wire might be the issue?
__________________
FXD2003Rider

(Click the M&G image to view a video footage)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2013, 03:48 PM
milesvdustin milesvdustin is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

I see what you are saying. It is either the low side of my switch or the wiring from the switch to the light. Should be easy to track down once I have my meter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2013, 06:41 PM
milesvdustin milesvdustin is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Herrin, Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

Broken wire on the headlight pigtail! It was broken right inside the grommet for the headlight. I guess I screwed that up when I swapped it over. Time to install the HID kit!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:41 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1