Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member with an 'old' problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2014, 04:24 PM
n4ue
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down New member with an 'old' problem

Hello to all!
I'm a newbe here, but been riding for over 40 years. This is a 'strange' problem... It might be a little long, so please bear with me....
First, I am a retired Electrical Engineer (IBM)
Second, the Harley is a 2007 Dyna I bought new. It was a 'showpiece' at the Gainesville dealership and had a lot of chrome and the dealer installed 103 engine.
Third, the bike is on it's 5th battery (Harley battery)

Specifics:
The scooter has 1400 miles on it. No typo, 1400 miles. It has always been stored indoors and has always had a 'Battery Tender' on it. In fact, several, since I get them for free (legally, ha ha) The starter engages the flywheel OK, just almost impossible to turn over. Oil (Syn) has already been changed 2X.

Today, I went out to start it (headlights normal, etc) and the battery cranked it about 1/2 revolution and that was that. The battery will go to the shop tomorrow for a load test, but I suspect it's OK. At the farm, we have one of those portable battery jumpers, that will start anything including some big John Deere tractors. IT won't turn the Dyna over. It tries but it just can't. So, next, I took an old auto battery that's been in my shop and with some huge, short, welding cable type jumper cables I made to start my hot rods, it started the Dyna OK.
Luckily, the bike fires instantly (once turning over!) and idles perfect and runs perfect. However, even with the car battery, the head light dims to almost nothing while it's cranking. I cannot vouch for the car battery, but it was on a charger all night and it seems OK.