Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 Dyna Lowrider Engine Cutting Out While Riding?

Old 05-23-2014, 08:08 AM
1Deadman
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Dyna Lowrider Engine Cutting Out While Riding?

Hello All...

This is my first time posting to this forum and I'm having an issue I'm hoping to get some experienced help with.

I ride a basically stock 2001 Dyna Lowrider (carbureted) with the exception of slip-on pipes and cosmetic upgrades (11,000 miles).

In the last month or two while riding at various speeds, the engine will cut-off as if the kill switch was hit, no sputtering, no warning. All other electric is on and there is no check engine light or codes recorded. When you hit the start button the engine will crank but not start. However, as soon as I cycle the ignition switch off then on, the bike will restart as if nothing ever happened and run fine until it happens again, sometimes 10 minutes later, sometimes not for days.

I took it to the dealer and they replaced the TSSM with a regular TSM (only because I told them I didn't care about having the security system) to verify whether the problem was related to the Bank Angle Sensor but unfortunately that did not fix the problem. As I said there are no error codes recorded so it seems the mechanic is using the process of elimination method as this is an intermittent failure and there being no codes is not giving him much to to go on.

All obvious connections to the battery, ground, harnesses etc. appear to be solid and clean.

I like an adrenaline rush like the next guy but the engine cutting out at 70 mph in highway traffic isn't the way I want to go out.

If anyone has any experience with this or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated...Thanks!

Old 05-23-2014, 10:25 AM
Robtarra39
Road Warrior