Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Slipons to Stage One

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2014, 07:34 PM
Cardstang
Advanced
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Slipons to Stage One

Hi All,

Sorry for all the newb questions. I'm a newb but eager to learn. Point me to existing topics and posts and chastise me if necessary.

I currently have Rush Slipons on my 2013 FXDC. At first I didn't care for them too much, but now I really like them.

Can I now go to a full Stage 1 conversion and retain the same slipons?

I need a different intake and a tune, right? How about changing the exhaust back to the mufflers? Is that required?

And what will this gain me? Will there be a different sound? Run cooler? More HP?

Thanks for reading.

Old 06-13-2014, 07:38 PM
maddghost
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

If you go back to stock muffs you reverse the whole stage 1 process. If anything you need to open the exhaust even more, add air then fuel and you will get power gains from 6% to 8%. mods go\ on and on and you just proved that by saying you want more! Cheers and have fun!

Old 06-13-2014, 07:42 PM
Cardstang
Advanced

Whoops

I meant change the exhaust piece than runs from the engine to the new slipons. Poor wording choice. On cars it is the manifold and mid pipe. Not sure what they are called on motorcycles.

Told you I was a newb.

Old 06-13-2014, 09:07 PM
Jaystn62
Stellar HDF Member

Received 213 Likes on 155 Posts

Your bike had the cats in the mufflers. When you put on the slipons you eliminated them. I have the Rinehart 3.25" slipons with a K&N Streetmetal intake and added a Vance & Hines FP3 tuner a few weeks ago. Bike runs better than ever.

Old 06-13-2014, 10:07 PM
Chase1961
Road Captain
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts