Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

first dyna

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2014, 05:11 AM
NickZ89
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first dyna

Hows it going, just purchased my first harley. I have been riding dirtbikes my whole life and had a crotchrocket for a while. Have always wanted a harley as everyone in my family rides. Yesterday i bought a 2009 fxd bone stock. i love it and already have a couple plans for it. I was planning on doing a 2 into 1 pipe(maybe a TH but open to suggestions) and given my dirtbike background i am definitely planning on doing a forbidden riser/protaper bar set up. i was just wondering, if i do the exhaust, do any other mods have to be done to support that? I am totally new at working on these bikes. thanks in advance!

Nick

Old 06-15-2014, 06:37 AM
atlantaallen
Road Captain
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Welcome. Congrats on your first HD.
First get yourself a service manual. That and these forums will get you thru a lot of projects and problems. Make sure your bars and risers will fit and are 1" bars. Not 7/8" as most of the dirt bike bars are.

Old 06-15-2014, 08:08 AM
mikeg212001
Tourer

Congrats on the bike, and welcome to the family! As far as doing the exhaust, you can get away with just a pipe, but once you do an air cleaner, then you will need a fuel management as well, such as a power commander, power vision, fuel pack, etc.
The bikes run a little lean from the factory, so you might get some decel popping from the exhaust, without a programmer, but it wont hurt anything. Again, congrats, ride safe, and have fun!!

Old 06-15-2014, 02:45 PM
NickZ89
Intermediate

thanks guys. I was just checking because I am not planning on dumping money into the bike right away. Maybe just bars and an exhaust for now,