Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FXDX front brake issue?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2014, 09:15 AM
Scott Smith
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FXDX front brake issue?

Had this 2000 FXDX about a month. The guy I bought it from said he had the dealer flush and bleed the brakes but the front dual disks still felt mushy. I got a rebuild kit for the master and re bled them feels better but the first pull goes almost to the grip. Repetitive pulls increase the distance from the grip that the handle firms up. Pads are within tolerance.so are the disks. 16000 mi on the bike.
Any ideas? I bled the brakes forward and backward. Even removed the master when I back bled it and held it so no air would be trapped at the banjo fitting.

Old 06-30-2014, 09:16 AM
Scott Smith
Novice

Oh yeah it's a 11/16 master

Old 06-30-2014, 09:18 AM
Scott Smith
Novice

And Dot 5

Old 06-30-2014, 12:13 PM
JRK5892
Banned
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts

you still have air in the lines it sounds like... i would rebleed, did you start with the caliper furthest from the master? then do the other, go back, go back done... may be time for caliper seal rebuild as well

Old 06-30-2014, 12:17 PM
Good_Apollo
Road Warrior
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The early dual disc Master Cylinders had issues, there was an article on it in american iron, I forgot what issue. Mine is the same way. I'm not sure a rebuild fixes it or not but I got a newer revised one ready to put on mine just gotta get the time and the other bike back together first

Old 06-30-2014, 01:12 PM
dudshep31
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Probably not the main issue, but those old rubber brake lines can also contribute to spongy brake lever.

Old 06-30-2014, 01:21 PM
Greezey Rider
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2,493 Likes on 1,073 Posts