Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

why is Twin Cam better than an Evo?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2014, 07:32 PM
06Sporty75
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default why is Twin Cam better than an Evo?

wondering why the twin cam motors are suppose to be better than Evo's. Are they smoother? more power? They seem pretty similar to me..

Old 08-24-2014, 07:54 PM
SoCalRoadGlide
Cruiser
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

First let me preface this by saying, I am not an engineer. Nor do I have access to anybody at H-D to explain to me their thinking. Most of what I may or may not know is probably totally erroneous. I'm just another know-it-all internet schlub.

The Twin Cam geometry allowed Harley to straighten out the pushrod angles to each cylinder. This makes for a more efficient valve train geometry.

While they were at it, they removed the outer cam support from the cam cover. This was done to make the engine quieter. Since the cam cover is now just a cover, it doesn't transmit as much noise. Same thing as when they went from the Shovelhead to the Evo. Then they removed the rocker arm shafts from the rocker boxes.

The Twin Cam engines also have a gerotor oil pump, vs. a simple gear pump on the Evo's. Again this is for efficiency, the gerotor pumps more volume. There are also oil jets squirting up under the pistons that are to cool the head of the pistons.

I'm missing a bunch of stuff, no doubt. But I'm also sure somebody else will come along and fill in the gaps and let you know where I'm totally off base. :-D

Old 08-24-2014, 08:10 PM
Chasespeed
Tourer
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by 06Sporty75
wondering why the twin cam motors are suppose to be better than Evo's. Are they smoother? more power? They seem pretty similar to me..