Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Electrical experts help please!

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2014, 01:27 AM
greenbax
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical experts help please!

I'm a novice mechanic and I will be installing a new custom fender kit on my slim. Part of the process requires you relocate the ECM by folding it over so it's on top of the battery, then place the cover over that. The maker recommends to Velcro or zip tie the ECM so it is secured.

My question is this: are there any potential problems or danger with an ECM coming in contact, (or close contact) to the battery? They say no, and I trust them, but just in case I wanted to run it by the experts here on had forums to be sure.

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-24-2014, 10:32 PM
UltraNutZ
Extreme HDF Member
Received 137 Likes on 108 Posts

Originally Posted by greenbax
I'm a novice mechanic and I will be installing a new custom fender kit on my slim. Part of the process requires you relocate the ECM by folding it over so it's on top of the battery, then place the cover over that. The maker recommends to Velcro or zip tie the ECM so it is secured.

My question is this: are there any potential problems or danger with an ECM coming in contact, (or close contact) to the battery? They say no, and I trust them, but just in case I wanted to run it by the experts here on had forums to be sure.

Thanks in advance!
All touring bike ECMs are located on top of battery with a 1/4" piece of plastic separating them

Old 10-28-2014, 07:24 PM
oldairboater
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts