Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Dead Sporty

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2016, 09:59 PM
HDinFP
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Dead Sporty

I'm looking for a bit of help here, I'm a bit of a newbie, and my bike is dead.
It's an 08 Sportster 1200 low. I had an issue a month or so ago after I put a load equalizer on the bike. I connected it to the front light assembly and to the RBT as I was instructed by custom dynamics. The issue at the time was that the RBT seemed to be heating up, it gave off a burning smell. It also seemed to be draining the battery.
This past weekend I was riding in pretty heavy traffic when it began to smell a gain, I pulled into a rest area and let the bike cool. I got back on the road little bit later after it cooled and the traffic let up a little. I had ridden about 100 miles when the speedo dropped to 0 and went back up to 60, the speedo light was also out. About 10 seconds later the speedo dropped to 0 and the bike started stuttering, then died. After getting it towed the last 8 miles home I tried to start it, no dice. The current state is this

When it is in the Ignition state there is no power - run switch does nothing, start switch does nothing, horn does nothing, brake lights do nothing.
When in the ACC setting break lights work, speedo light works, brake light works, horn works - but first try is muffled, second is good after that it gets anemic then the power drains and and the clock flashes 12:00. If I take it off the tender the battery drains over night.
I have checked all the fuses, removed the load equalizer and replaced the battery, still it's dead.

Any leads on what to check next?

Old 08-10-2016, 02:48 PM
14GuineaPig
Stellar HDF Member
Received 511 Likes on 444 Posts

Your speedometer dropped to "0" most likely because the battery voltage dropped too low. That's also why the bike stuttered and died.