Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

How much power is a 2-2 exhaust actually costing me?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 11:42 AM
Reindeer
Supporter
Received 727 Likes on 403 Posts
Default How much power is a 2-2 exhaust actually costing me?

Forgive me if this has been covered--I'm kinda new at the Harley performance thing...

I've got a 09 FXDC that I recently purchased used with a Cobra Speedster exhaust, a SE Stage 1 A/C, and a HD "Digital Technician" remap. The Speedster exhaust is similar to the V & H BigShots in that they have a balance pipe that connects the 2 pipes.

I haven't had the bike very long but I'm already thinking I need more power, especially for 2-up riding. I'm planning on a cam upgrade (Andrews 48 maybe?) and a real tune, but I'm happy with the current sound and look of the exhaust, not to mention I already own it.

How much power is the 2-2 exhaust actually going to cost me compared to a decent 2-1 system? I understand that there is a ton of variables and that no two engines responds exactly the same, but as a general rule are we talking like 5hp or like 15hp? Basically I'm trying to decide if I should budget for a new system.

Old 04-19-2012, 01:24 PM
tunaman
Road Warrior
Received 308 Likes on 203 Posts

I'm sure djl or someone more knowledgable will chime in and perhaps be able to give some swag numbers, and others will chime in with opinions, but for now here's mine:

- You like the looks and sound of your current exhaust
- You are running something more than stock
- You are not chasing max performance numbers
- You are looking for a bit more power
- You are going to install better cams