Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Rockouts and Lifter Change

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2017, 11:46 AM
ColoStreetGlide
Cruiser
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Rockouts and Lifter Change

OK, this is my first time into the engine and as I have some noisy lifters, I'm going to change them out to S&S. My question is, does anybody have any advice before I get into this? I've been doing some reading, watching some YouTube's and I have the manual.
Also, what does everybody like for gaskets for the rocker box and such? Should I go Harley or is there something I can just have it sent to my house from Amazon or something? I only need half of the valve cover gasket's as I'm only taking the top one off, then I need the breather parts and the pushrod tubes parts (O-rings) with the pushrod base gaskets.

Old 01-08-2017, 01:10 PM
ROCKOUT Rocker Products
Sponsor
Received 1,628 Likes on 1,176 Posts

The rocker cover gaskets from Harley are the best, they run about $6 each from the dealer. I find that when buying online, by the time you pay shipping any savings is usually a wash.

If you plan on changing the breathers, the kit number is 17025-03A, you'll need 2 kits.

Some folks also elect to drill out the drain holes in the rocker support plates "while they're in there"....

1/8" drill bit is the size most often recommended here.

John @ Rockout

__________________________________________________ ____
For ROCKOUT information & purchasing please click the LINKS below...

Also on amazon.com...
Imitated, never equaled... ROCKOUTS!

Old 01-08-2017, 01:25 PM
ColoStreetGlide
Cruiser

Thanks John,
So it sounds like just running over to the Harley shop won't break the bank then.

Old 01-08-2017, 02:12 PM
Wv7o
Tourer
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by ROCKOUT Rocker Products