Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Carbon Build-up...Prevention

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2014, 05:10 PM
racer11
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by northeastconfederate
Combustion chamber cleaning: GM Top Engine Cleaner does a hell of a job of this. When I was a Benz mechanic, we used this stuff regularly on cars that got driven... what, softly? Lightly? And ended up with carboned/coked up combustion chambers and valves. It is (or at least was) available in an aerosol can which works well on bike carbs/throttle bodies. Follow the directions on the can closely. And make sure to point the exhausr AWAY from your garage and house. The stuff REALLY stinks when the motor gets going and blows it and all the carbon, etc, out the exhaust.

If I can figure out how to post pics via my phone on here I'll post up my venting setup. It's not all that visible byt what can be seen of it looks at least tolerable. Actually pretty good.
I'm dying to see your venting pics,,,,I pondered a venting route for mine and could not think up something that I thought looked acceptable.

Old 09-10-2014, 07:15 PM
northeastconfederate
Tourer
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I'll see if I can get them posted up at work tonight; if not, will do it tomorrow afternoon before I go to work.

Old 09-10-2014, 08:02 PM
djl
HDF Community Team

Received 2,018 Likes on 1,492 Posts

Here is one way to skin the cat. Could be plumbed higher if one wanted to hide as much of it as possible behind the air filter. Most is out of sight when the filter cover is in place.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that KrankVents are attached at the head breather outlets; can't see for the filter.

Last edited by djl; 09-11-2014 at 02:58 PM.
Old 09-10-2014, 08:17 PM
checkers
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 273 Likes on 237 Posts