EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Tell Me About an 89 FL

Old 09-02-2015, 08:06 PM
Pothole914
Grand HDF Member

Received 3,682 Likes on 1,469 Posts
Default Tell Me About an 89 FL

Found an 89 FL?? Classic. Add says motor runs and transmission shifts but, needs a battery and tank has rust. I have a battery I can take and a spare tank for fuel to see if it will start. I know nothing about the 89 Evo motor. Any major issues? I'm sure this bike has not been taken care of due to the description but, I'm pretty handy with wrenches and can do most if not all work on it. Asking price is $3,500 but, with the issues, I may be able to do a bit better than that. Thoughts, advise, suggestions? Thanks

Old 09-02-2015, 08:13 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,683 Likes on 1,339 Posts

I'm not an expert on the 89's, but I seem to recall that some of the cases were weak. There's a couple of failure points: around the main seal in the inner primary (look for motor oil in the primary), at the head bolt hole on the left side of the front jug, rear head bolt, that is, if you look at the motor on the left, the rear head bolt on the front jug, maybe the front left head bolt on the rear, maybe both, don't recall, and at the back of the block way down by the oil pump. Of course, base gasket oil leaks are very common, so it can be hard to tell if the leak is from the base gasket or from a cracked block, especially at the back one. Not all the blocks crack, of course, and if it hasn't by now, it probably won't. But for that era, it is something to look out for. There are some threads here in the evo section on it, if your Google-Fu is strong.

Old 09-02-2015, 08:47 PM
bluharley
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts