EVO All Evo Model Discussion

91 fatboy primary coming out oil vent

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2016, 12:56 AM
Julian Armijo
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 fatboy primary coming out oil vent

So I have a 91 Fatboy with stock EVO. It was running fine for about a year after I got it. One day I pulled up to my garage and noticed a lot of primary fluid coming out the oil vent tube. I studied up and learned it must be crank seal. I replaced the seal and took the bike out for a test run. Immediately the vent tube starts shooting out primary fluid again. The engine oil level is fine as well as transmission oil. Primary fluid is low. I am thinking maybe the seal at the clutch pack.....any help is appreciated.

Last edited by Julian Armijo; 05-26-2016 at 12:57 AM. Reason: Misspellings
Old 05-26-2016, 08:19 AM
Tommy C
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 19,502 Likes on 6,631 Posts

Are you sure the oil isn't coming from the transmission vent tube?

Old 05-26-2016, 08:30 AM
Tom84FXST
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 18,166 Likes on 5,391 Posts

Originally Posted by Tommy C
Are you sure the oil isn't coming from the transmission vent tube?

Post a pic of where the oil is coming out.

Old 05-26-2016, 12:40 PM
Julian Armijo
Novice
Default Oil vent tube

Originally Posted by Tom84FXST
Post a pic of where the oil is coming out.
I am positive it is coming out of the Oil Pump Vent tube. I have even printed the oil pump schematics and compared it side by side. The transmission is at the correct level as is the engin oil. I am thinking I may need to either rebuild or replace the oil pump?

Old 05-26-2016, 04:04 PM
texashillcountry
Dirt don't hurt

Received 4,317 Likes on 1,946 Posts

Originally Posted by Julian Armijo
I am positive it is coming out of the Oil Pump Vent tube. I have even printed the oil pump schematics and compared it side by side. The transmission is at the correct level as is the engin oil. I am thinking I may need to either rebuild or replace the oil pump?