EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Head Gasket/bolt advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2016, 09:47 AM
moseshoward
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head Gasket/bolt advice needed

Here down South we have a saying, "There's no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people asking questions!" So here I go....

I have a 96' Electra Glide Classic that absolutely HATES head gaskets! Presently on my fourth (yes 4) blown head gasket, two each front and back. After this fourth time my mechanic discovered the rear head bolts had worked loose and were no longer torqued correctly. So now we're having "inserts" done on both the cylinders and going with a 5/16 head bolt.

I'm no mechanical genius by any standards and was wondering if anyone on here had done this and the end result? I LOVE this bike and want to keep it! Runs great (when it does run) and rides like a brand new one. Only 45k on the odometer. So should I trust these inserts or take her in and trade it?

Attached Thumbnails Head Gasket/bolt advice needed-011.jpg  
Old 07-24-2016, 10:20 AM
WP50
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,698 Likes on 1,153 Posts

That's a surprise least to me the the studs working loose on that year model.

The motor should have studs in the cases (block if you will) uses screws with internal threads.(nuts) to hold the head to the cylinders with the head gasket between them.

It just sounds like things are not getting torqued right, possibly a warped head. Both heads at once sounds strange. If you are confident of your mechanic then going the insert route sounds like a good way to go.

There are stories about letting an EVO warm up a bit before riding to help minimize head and base gasket leaks. There are lots of folks here with more experience than me by a long shot so I'd bet one of them will chime in soon

WP

The following users liked this post:
moseshoward (07-24-2016)
Old 07-24-2016, 10:53 AM
texashillcountry
Dirt don't hurt

Received 4,317 Likes on 1,946 Posts