priming oil pump - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Evo Classic Models
Log In 


Evo Classic Models All Evo Models

priming oil pump

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-09-2011, 05:40 PM
jsbridgew's Avatar
jsbridgew jsbridgew is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south of Boston
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default priming oil pump

hey folks,

bike is finally done....1991 FXSTS

before i start her i know i need to prime the oil pump... any suggestions?

i know i need to pull the screen and ball and fill with oil until it requires no more, but is that it?....should i fill the oil tank, as well?....do i turn the engine over each time i pour oil in the pump?

any help would be greatly appreciated!

paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2011, 10:37 PM
mkguitar mkguitar is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix '53, '88, '09 Big Twins
Posts: 13,373
Thanks: 3
Thanked 89 Times in 79 Posts
Default

My rebuilt motor had assembly lube in it where bearings, pistons, cam and lifters were all new.

I put oil in the tank ( FXRP, so oil tank under the seat), removed the spark plugs and manually turned over the motor until I could see that oil was being returned to the tank - this took awhile.

Then it fired right up, oil pressure was there right off the bat.

Mike
__________________
The smarter you spend- the more bikes you can buy!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2011, 07:16 AM
Dan89FLSTC's Avatar
Dan89FLSTC Dan89FLSTC is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,368
Thanks: 5
Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Fill the tank, remove the spring and check ball in the pump. The oil will eventually find it`s way through the pump, but it is quicker to pour some oil into the pump.
__________________
1989 FLSTC
2016 FLHR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2011, 07:20 AM
feguy1 feguy1 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rowlett, Texas
Posts: 281
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I always pull the spark plugs and spin motor over with the starter until gauge shows pressure. Then spin it some more to ensure filter and top end are primed, then fire it up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:03 AM
SGT89EVO's Avatar
SGT89EVO SGT89EVO is offline
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: FT KNOX
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

man that some good info here never thought about it like this
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2011, 10:12 AM
jsbridgew's Avatar
jsbridgew jsbridgew is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south of Boston
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

very cool!...thanks

curious, what does removing the spark plugs do?....does it prevent cavitation and air from building in the pump because no compression is being created?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2011, 12:25 PM
Jim Kraft's Avatar
Jim Kraft Jim Kraft is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle of Kansas
Posts: 2,773
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Pulling the plugs just lets the motor turn over faster/easier to get the oil circulating.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2011, 03:51 PM
jsbridgew's Avatar
jsbridgew jsbridgew is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south of Boston
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ah!....makes sense
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2011, 04:04 PM
mkguitar mkguitar is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix '53, '88, '09 Big Twins
Posts: 13,373
Thanks: 3
Thanked 89 Times in 79 Posts
Default

yes, but I turn it over by hand ( spinning rear wheel)-

running the with the starter works great BUT if the ignition is hooked up, the spark plugs have to be grounded or the ignition system could be damaged.

I just like doing it by hand, kinda feeling for everything to smooth up as the oil flows

Mike
__________________
The smarter you spend- the more bikes you can buy!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2011, 09:30 PM
jsbridgew's Avatar
jsbridgew jsbridgew is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south of Boston
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkguitar View Post
yes, but I turn it over by hand ( spinning rear wheel)-

running the with the starter works great BUT if the ignition is hooked up, the spark plugs have to be grounded or the ignition system could be damaged.

I just like doing it by hand, kinda feeling for everything to smooth up as the oil flows

Mike
...this is a good point

would NOT want to damage that new Dynatek ignition system i have in there, either
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to 'prime' oiling system when changing engine happyhab Evo Classic Models 14 06-29-2016 07:03 AM
No Oil Pressure Pops98 Touring Models 11 02-01-2015 05:05 PM
Why doesn't the manual tell you to prime (FILL) the oil filter? alphadog001 Touring Models 80 02-06-2012 05:58 PM
Question about replacing oil lines pops2ride Softail Models 2 10-26-2011 07:39 PM
Priming the oil pump? Emily Sportster Models 1 06-06-2011 08:42 PM


Tags
davidson, evo, harley, hd, ironhead, manually, oil, panhead, prime, priming, pump, shovelhead, sportster, transmission, turning

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.