EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Motor smokes....how to fix????

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 02:29 PM
99FLSTCDAVE
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor smokes....how to fix????

I have a 99 FLSTC with a Mikuni carb. The problem im having is white smoke comes out of my exhaust only after the bike is warm. It starts up just fine and sounds good. No smoke when I first start it up in the morning. But after it warms up, its a different story. It smokes when i stop and i,ve been told that it smokes when im riding as well. I,ve changed the spark plugs as well as the wires. The old spark plugs were black and smelled like gas. Im new to Harleys and would much appreciate any help I can get.

Old 03-17-2012, 02:55 PM
Mountainkowboy
Grand HDF Member
Received 967 Likes on 526 Posts

White smoke? If its a little blueish thats oil, a little greyish thats fuel. Might be over fueling it if you smell gas and there black that seems to be over fueling. Miht need to change some jets in the carb to get it right or you may need to rebuild the carb. I'm not up to speed on Mikuni carbs so someone else will offer some better advise.

Welcome to EVO's and the forum.

Old 03-17-2012, 03:47 PM
texashillcountry
Dirt don't hurt

Received 4,317 Likes on 1,946 Posts

If the old plugs were black and smells like gas you are running too rich. Adjust your fuel/air mixture screw.

Old 03-17-2012, 03:52 PM
SportsterBob
Club Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Make sure you are not running the engine with the choke/enrichener on.

Old 03-17-2012, 04:15 PM
miacycles
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

First make sure the enrichner cable is fully seated so that you know it is closing all the way in the carb. Sometimes the elbow comes out of the carb.

Old 03-17-2012, 04:43 PM
99FLSTCDAVE
Stage IV